Day 9: We Don’t Need A Wall

T.A. Ozbolt
5 min readAug 16, 2017

--

There’s been a lot of happy-talk in this story, so much so that you might think that the start of this 30 Days has been easy. Some days are, but with work, family, and community obligations that need attention, the largest obstacle for me as this 30 Days has progressed has been fatigue: hitting the wall, so to say.

On Day 9, I ran smack dab into that wall, and it was all that I could do to stay on my feet. But, fortunately, I got the message that I wasn’t walking (or, more honestly at this point, crawling) it alone.

That message came from (SURPRISE!) Stephen Mansfield’s Book of Manly Men. In the last few posts, I’ve talk about the first three of the four guideposts or maxims that he lays out for striving for true manhood. To recap, these are:

MANLY MEN DO MANLY THINGS

MANLY MEN TEND THEIR FIELDS

MANLY MEN BUILD MANLY MEN

These three all rest on the 4th and final maxim, it is the foundation for the other three and makes them possible:

MANLY MEN LIVE TO THE GLORY OF GOD

Stop.. just stop.

If you’re reading along and have stuck with this story through it’s entirety, one of two things probably just happened when we got to the subject of God:

  1. We just got to your favorite part of these posts
  2. We just got to the part of this story that you can do without, and wish that I’d take it down a notch

For those of you in the 2nd camp, the bad news is that I’m going to keep going… The good news is that you’re getting unfiltered information about the subject from someone who actually believes it versus having someone explain it to you who thinks it’s crazy, and maybe it’ll shine a light on a portion of the population that you just can’t figure out.

So, Maxim #4… How does someone “live to the glory of God?” In short, living to the glory of God means that a person does things, not for their own self-promotion, financial gain, or other self-centered concern, but instead for the purpose of showing the goodness of God.

For the purposes of true manhood, why does this matter for Mansfield?

First, a man cannot fulfill his purpose if he is living for applause, approval, and affirmation in this world. It simply will not come — not enough, certainly, to answer the needs of his soul . . .

Second, a man is meant to carry such responsibility that he will descend into exhaustion and resentment if he does not have the inner resources that come from living in connection with God . . . The issue for men is, as much as they might try, they cannot do what they are assigned to do without strength and energy beyond their own. This comes from being men to the glory of God.

Third, men are meant to tend the lives of others in such a way that they must have insight that comes from beyond them . . .

Finally, what I am saying of manly men is only what is true for all of life. Human beings are made by God and are made to live in relationship with God. It is the only way we will ever be whole or fulfilled or empowered or effective.

Obviously, if you don’t buy into the idea of God, you’re going to find a lot to disagree with in these reasons for why living to the glory of God is important.

But take God out of the equation for a moment. Ask yourself a few questions:

  1. Do I find lasting satisfaction in living my life for applause, approval, and affirmation (from myself or others)?
  2. Do I ever feel like the responsibilities and roles that I have in life are too heavy for me to carry? If so, is my way of coping/de-stressing beneficial to my short and long-term health?
  3. Do I get my best advice from myself or through insight that comes from a source other than myself?
  4. Do I feel 100% whole, 100% fulfilled, 100% empowered and 100% effective?

These aren’t trick questions, nor are they designed to manipulate you into a desired way of thinking. As Socrates supposedly said though, “An unexamined life is not worth living.” So let’s examine our lives. Fearlessly.

Mansfield brings up an issue in his discussion of Maxim #4 that may have come to your mind as well:

Someone will inevitably ask me if I’m saying that a man who doesn’t believe in God cannot be a good man. No, that’s not what I’m saying — although the problem is defining the word good . . . Each [man] thinks himself good by some definition. Each has a system of belief that defines for him what it means to be a man. You see the problem? What definition of good and of manhood should we live by?

“What definition of good and of manhood CAN we live by?” is an easy question with an easy answer: Anything we choose. Replace CAN with SHOULD and the question becomes infinitely more difficult. We can (probably) all agree that each definition of good and manhood is not created equal — how do you find the right one or the best one?

My hope is that this story challenges you, inspires you, and drives you to seek and find the best that’s out there for you in terms of manhood and good.

I think that I’ve found it — that doesn’t mean that I live it out anywhere near perfectly or even in a way that’s just mediocre — but it does mean that I have found lasting satisfaction, a way to shoulder heavy burdens, wise counsel, and an abiding peace.

For Day 9, in striving to live for the glory of God, to live for a purpose higher than myself, he gave me the motivation and the strength to get over that wall of fatigue.

For it is you who light my lamp, the Lord my God lightens my darkness. For by you I can run against a troop, and by my God I can leap over a wall. ~Psalm 18:28–29.

We don’t need to be stopped by any wall. Bust through.

___________________________________________________________________

Quote of the Day

I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way.

~Gustav Mahler

___________________________________________________________________

Links to Past Episodes/Resources:

Introduction Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5 Day 6 Day 7 Day 8

Manfield’s Book of Manly Men: An Utterly Invigorating Guide to Being Your Most Masculine Self

If you have any feedback, please send me a message or leave it on my Facebook page: Thirty Days. This is a new project and I’d love to hear your thoughts. It is a tremendous encouragement to know that someone is reading this. Encouragement, comments AND criticism are welcome.

Tweet T.A. Ozbolt

--

--