Felix Baumgartner — falling… with style!

Beyond the Striving Journey

This isn’t flying. It’s falling… with style!

Published in
5 min readJul 12, 2019

--

Immediately after publishing Trust Your Struggle, I received an email from my friend Parker Sherry, from SpiritQuest Sanctuary:

Strive to be a clean instrument. It’s the striving that’s key, and the striving journey is the real destination. “I don’t take pride in my accomplishments,” Andre Agassi once said, “I take pride in the striving.” Or as Gandhi wrote, “infinite striving to be the best is not only a person’s duty; it is its own reward.”

It made me think of the evolution of my articles and writing. For me, writing has been a journey of communicating thoughts and philosophy. It has its own pace and rhythm as I explore concepts… from suffering to struggling… to striving. It is interesting because they are three ways to describe an experience and each word captures a different perspective of the experience.

suf·fer /ˈsəfər/
verb
experience or be subjected to (something bad or unpleasant).

strug·gle /ˈstrəɡəl/
verb
make forceful or violent efforts to get free of restraint or constriction.

strive /strīv/
verb
make great efforts to achieve or obtain something.

--

--