Is Technology Making You Forget How to Eat?

Adam
4 min readJun 24, 2024

--

Have you ever found yourself reaching for your phone or the remote the moment you’re gonna start to eat? You’re not alone—I’m guilty of this too.

After doing some research, I found out that our habit of using technology while eating can lead to distracted eating and overeating.

It’s something I’ve wondered about and now I want to share what I’ve discovered.

Why do we like to use technology while eating?

Image by Amanda Capritto on CNET

The combination of eating and watching TV or using our phones is incredibly common. Why?

Because it’s two pleasurable activities mixed into one. Our brains love this multitasking because it’s a double hit of dopamine.

When we’re entertained, we’re distracted, and when we eat, we’re satisfying a primal need. Put them together, and it’s an irresistible combination.

But here’s the catch — when we eat while distracted, we’re not paying attention to how much we’re consuming. Our focus is on the screen, not our stomachs. This can lead to overeating without you even realizing it.

What are the consequences of distracted eating?

Image on MSU

Eating while watching TV or scrolling through your phone might seem harmless, but it has its downsides.

When we’re not mindful of our eating, we’re more likely to overeat.

Studies have shown that distracted eating can lead to increased calorie intake because we’re not aware that we’re actually full.

Plus, we miss out on fully enjoying and appreciating our food.

I noticed this myself recently when I decided to eat without using my phone.

Suddenly, my meal was more delicious, and I felt full with less. It made me realize how much I had been missing out on such a delicious meal just because I’m using my phone to watch YouTube.

How can mindful eating help?

Image on IStock

Mindful eating is a powerful technique to counteract the habit of distracted eating.

By being fully present during meals, we can better appreciate our food and be more aware of our body’s hunger and fullness signals.

Mindful eating helps us slow down and enjoy each bite, which can prevent overeating and enhance our overall eating experience.

Additionally, it cultivates gratitude for the food we have, making each meal a more enriching experience.

How do I start eating mindfully?

If you’re ready to try mindful eating, here are some tips to get you started:

  • Put away your phone and turn off the TV: Put them in another room to increase the friction of using technology while eating. This allows you to fully engage with your meal and be present in the moment.
  • Chew your food slowly: Take time to savor each bite. This not only enhances your appreciation of the flavors but also aids in better digestion and helps you recognize when you’re full.
  • Focus on your food: Pay attention to the colors, textures, and flavors of your meal. Notice the different ingredients and how they complement each other, turning your meal into a richer, more sensory experience.
Image on Wagner

It might feel strange at first, but give it a try. You might be surprised at how much more you enjoy your food.

Final Thoughts

Using technology while eating is a common habit that can lead to overeating.

But by practicing mindful eating, we can break this cycle and enjoy our meals more fully.

It’s all about creating a distraction-free environment, slowing down, and appreciating each bite.

So next time you sit down for a meal, try turning off the screen and being present. Your body and your taste buds will thank you.

Thank you for reading! If you found this helpful:

📃 You might find this interesting —

How Your Surroundings Are Sabotaging Your Goals

--

--

Adam

I'm Adam and I write blogs about things I learned that could help you. So if you found my blogs helpful consider buying me a coffee: ko-fi.com/adamgarciaa