Powerful Ways of Praying For A Broken Marriage

Sam the Christian
3 min readJun 2, 2020

--

Marriage is the most blessed union in our lives but it isn’t always an easy path. The Lord may put challenges ahead of us but he wants to lead us to happiness. Praying for a broken marriage can help bring the two of you back together stronger than ever.

I’ll share a few prayers with you here. Remember that I was recently talking about praying for relationship restoration and you’ll find a lot of the same things. The Lord wants to help us on this path.

If you’d like to submit your prayer to churches, prayer groups and shrines around the world click here.

Marriage is a sacred ceremony where two people say their vows in front of God and are eager to fulfill them and grow in sanctitude. However, certain events happen that distance the two individuals and cause a rift in the relationship.

A broken marriage can be painful, not just for the husband and wife but for all parties involved, such as the kids or extended families. If you’re in a broken marriage or know someone close, who is in one, you can pray to God to fix the brokenness and reunite the two individuals.

Here’s what you can say:

Dear Lord, the evil forces are doing everything in their power to destroy this wedlock. I am praying for you to save my marriage. Guard my relationship with my spouse and prevent us from being tempted towards all sorts of evils, especially those that may make it impossible for us to revive our relationship.

I pray that we can look past each other’s faults and flaws, and become more productive with communicating our feelings. I hope that we grow out of this situation stronger and our love for each other deepens.

Help us transform so that we treat each other selflessly. I pray that You, God, remain the focus of our lives, and we make decisions based upon what you would like us to do. Give us compassion for each other and help us be better.

I pray that all negative emotions will be drained from us completely as we become forbearing and forgiving towards each other. Amen.

Be patient, humble, and gentle with one another in love. Strive to keep the unity of the Spirit by the bond of peace. (Ephesians 4:2–3)

God, I know that You are good, even though I can’t see the good right now. I know that You love me, even though I don’t feel You right now. God, please come closer to me. Fill me with Your Spirit. Rid my heart of the anger and hurt I have towards my spouse. Surround me with comfort, strength, and wisdom. Pour Your love into me, into my spouse, and into my marriage. Help me to wait. Be with me in the waiting.

With any prayer, it’s important to remember you’re really just speaking to God. The words you use are not as important as your reason and intent for the prayer. Even when you feel like you’re alone He hasn’t abandoned you.

Remember this.

--

--