How Wanderlust shaped my life

And how I got this word tattooed on my skin

The sweet life of a traveller
2 min readApr 25, 2019
Photo by Christian Joudrey on Unsplash

I got the inspiration for my second story when I tried to book a flight to Bangkok and failed for the third time in my life.

As I told you in my first story here on Medium “The sweet life of a traveller: a story of a failed travel blog”, travelling is hard when you’re a millennial with a full time job and a low salary (it’s the same old story but I hope you got my point reading my last article).

Do you know what makes it so hard to be in this situation? Suffering from wanderlust. Probably you’ve heard this word somewhere, especially on Instagram where it became so mainstream.

Wanderlust is an urge, a deep feeling, a constant thought that makes you want to travel anytime, anywhere, anyhow.

It comes from German wander that means wandering/roaming and lust that is pretty much the same idea of lust in English: travelling turns you on, it physically thrills you, you can’t stop and you just want it more.

It might sound cheesy or sloppy for those who don’t feel the same, but actually wanderlust is a thing. I constantly feel this way and most of the time a sense of sadness comes along with it, that it sometimes even makes me cry when I look up flights on Skyscanner. Altough, at the same time wanderlust turned into my most profound source of happiness.

Wanderlust became my inner sparkle.

In the moment I first read this word, I realized that there’s a name that defines the feeling I’ve always had about travelling and especially that there are thousands of people that feels the same way.

I actually feel lucky to have wanderlust: it makes me talk passionately about travels and places, it makes me excited whenever I take the train to go somewhere new, it inspires me.

This is the reason why I got a tattoo with the word Wanderlust

I’ve never thought that a single word would mean so much to me. That’s why it will always be written on a small portion my skin, to remind me that I have a reason for what I do.

One day I’ll be travelling the world.

It’s just not time yet. In the meantime you can follow my stories here on Medium or on Instagram (@wanderer_giorgia).

--

--

The sweet life of a traveller

The travel blog behind Giorgia — 25yo world citizen, ID says from Italy