My Experiences about Bertelsmann Data Science Scholarship-Udacity

thirumalaidevi ramya
3 min readJul 21, 2018

--

I always write my experiences whenever I try something new and this habit induced me to write a blog about my experiences in Bertelsmann Data Science Scholarship-Udacity. Before that, let us have a short background of whom you are gonna travel with for the next few mins 😉
I am Thirumalai devi ramya. Learning in Udacity was not new to me.I always enjoy it and I am so thankful to Udacity for offering wonderful courses. I was already in Android basics track of Google India Challenge Scholarship. It was an usual day, I opened up Android Basics slack and I was going through many new post made in different channels.

Suddenly my eyes stopped to read the post tagged “Another scholar from Udacity” by my friend Sai Gokula Krishnan. Thanks to him 🎉

Post link : https://discussions.udacity.com/t/another-scholarship-from-udacity/619775

when I started to read about the post I get to know that there is a scholar for Data science in Udacity offered by Bertelsmann . I thought to apply for it. I shared this post with my twin 👭 mareeswari lakshmi , who was in front-end scholar in udacity.
We both decided to apply for this scholarship and filled the application form with a loads of eagerness 😏
Then we were all waiting for the results. Everyone on that day in slack was discussing about Data science topics and how it is hard to grab this opportunity in udacity,as there was only limited seats.
And finally the results came, luckily me and my twin got selected for the scholar.

The syllabus of the challenge course contains Statistics,Variability, Python and Sql. I was very eager to learn python and sql.

First day

On my first day in Data science slack I was astonished to check that there are 15,000 participants who compete for 1500 seats . As this was an International scholarship..I could find slack channels holding different countries names.

There were two student Experience Lead for this scholar,they are Kathleen.Udacity and Marat.Udacity.

I was astonished to see that the slack seems to be busy always as we are all from different time zones . AMA_Sessions were conducted frequently, there were loads of questions put forth by everyone ,and there were more number of channels to increase creativity. Some of my favorite channels are #motivation 🎓, #memes 😆, #photo_gallery 🎴, #music 🎻 and so on.
Learning together in a community is always more interesting than learning alone.
You get to know about new ideas, new questions, different perspectives.
I could find so many experienced persons here. At the start I felt difficult to cope up ⏳ with android, data science and college studies. After some days I become attached to the schedule which became a daily routine to complete specific lessons.
As you began to learn deeper you began to get attracted to it.
After I got selected for the Android basics nano degree 😉 in Google India challenge scholarship, Sometimes I was fed up and I thought to give up completely. As it was difficult to handle two courses at the same time.

I will have definitely done that one, if I have not met Divya Thakur , Suparna Paul , Jessica Happatsch and Abhipsa Mishra

They were fabulous persons I have ever met 😊. Their patience, commitment and hard work to complete a certain task encouraged me.
When I started to learn python 🐍 it was little bit harder for me to learn as I was a novice in that. I asked doubts in slack and got help from peers . My friend Aditya Agarwal also helped me in learning python. I should say Infinite thanks to him😅
The sql part was very much awesome..after learning it I wish I had a data foundation nano degree 😜

This was an introductory blog on my experiences in Data science scholarship.If you wanna know more about my journey please take a look into my another blog :

https://medium.com/@thiru141997/bertelsmann-data-science-scholarship-udacity-womens-book-a9370779b2c1

Thank you fellas for spending your precious time to read my blog 😁

--

--

thirumalaidevi ramya

Magic happens when you do not give up,eventhough you want to! The universe always falls in love with the stubborn heart :)