Grabbing a slice of home in Fort Collins, Colorado

Katie Mitchell
3 min readFeb 3, 2018

--

Supporting small businesses does not just make you feel good, it helps you grow roots. Fort Collins is a small town of locals who love it beyond belief. There is a unique blend of homegrown businesses defining who we are and what we believe in; dogs and bikes seem to be ruling the scene right now. That is also why publications list us as one of the best places to live in the United States, there is no shortage of small town love.

But in order to support this small town and keep it as cute as downtown Disney , we need to support the actual people who live here, instead of the corporations who are trying to buy them out.

I always imagine corporations as fish. I picture them specifically as koi fish, hanging around munching on whatever comes near. Sometimes, they even eat other of their own kind, like Amazon buying Whole Foods Market. And usually, these are strategic fishy meals. Suddenly, Amazon is loved by millions while they move in on new towns because they made Whole Foods cheaper.

Do not get me wrong, I love the convenience of a quick in-and-out trip to Target. However, I have to weigh out the consequences of my shopping and as a college student, who has more time than a mom of triplets, I am able to complete my errands with more involvement of the small businesses. For the busy mom, I can see where Target would come in handy.

But these super convenient corporations do not only munch on other corporations, they eat small, local businesses. Here is where the issue comes in. The Fort Collins is only successful in keeping its homegrown businesses when the community acts to support one another, forming a shoal in order to keep everyone afloat. Keeping these shops alive and swimming is a main way you could help the community by participating in shop small Saturday, a chance to show love to the local dives and put your money where it matters, as well as help grow Fort Collins’ local economy. These Saturdays are an opportunity to support small businesses and celebrate in community. If our businesses are doing well, so are other Fort Collins’ special events, like Bohemian Nights and Tour De Fat.

We celebrate because we have so many small businesses and local ventures to experience. It is possible to run all of your day-to-day errands without needing to ever go to a large corporation in Fort Collins. Groceries? We have that. Pet stores? Over here. Even physicians!

Supporting local businesses is more than just giving your money to people who you can see will benefit from it. It is about growing your roots somewhere you care about, learning the people of your neighborhood. As I have incorporated myself into this community, building roots has become incredibly important to me. That is why I visit Taylor at The Gold Leaf Collective, why I hang out with the baristas at Harbinger. Eventually, you have roots holding your space in the community.

These roots prevent erosion headed in the direction of chain-store-America, a landscape too similar to any other town. Ours is incredible because the moment you arrive, you know where you are. By supporting local shops, we are resisting this landscape and making sure Fort Collins stays special.

Growing roots is not only a practice for staying put, either. When traveling, going to the local joints is the best way to get to know your stop fon your adventure. Why go to an Applebees in a new place instead of trying the local cuisine? Find something to love about every place you are.

I am in love with knowing small details of all of the places I go. I am in love with the roots I feel tugging at my heart every time I think back on a place I have been. Because with this practice, every single place you go can feel like a slice of home.

--

--

Katie Mitchell

Busy working on my outdoor experiential (and grad school) learning