Demystifying the Laser Tattoo Removal Process

It’s time-consuming, expensive, and painful — and I would do it all over again

Teresa Colón
8 min readAug 15, 2019
Tattoos fade with each treatment

Tattoos are amazing things. They represent our values, our sense of style, and are little time capsules of who we were and how we saw ourselves at the time we put ink-to-skin.

But what happens when those tattoos are so far removed from how we see ourselves that they become painful to see? For me, it’s meant exploring and committing myself to the tattoo removal process.

Whenever I share that I’m removing my tattoos with people, I inevitably get asked the same few questions:

- Don’t you worry you’ll regret it?
- Is it painful?
- Is it expensive?
- How does it work?

It’s funny to me that people ask if I’ll regret removing my tattoos because my mother asked me the same question when I got them: Aren’t you worried you’ll regret your tattoos down the road?

The truth is that I don’t regret getting them. I understand the motivations I had when I inked each into my body, and I’m clear on the reasons I’m removing them now.

What happens when [our] tattoos are so far removed from how we see ourselves that they become

--

--

Teresa Colón

Mom & knitter. Passionate about mental health & helping people feel better. The names are changed; the stories are real. Learn more at woundedbirdsministry.com.