Amateur’s Powerful Guide to Effective Running.

Tomas Janik
3 min readAug 30, 2023

--

If you are ready to take on Marathon, this is for you.

5 Years ago I started my very first triathlon training.

I never really ran before.

I was a gym rat, not even a good one. So running was very hard for me. And I mean hard, unpleasant, and painful.

I hated it, trying to run 4x a week, no way Jose!

My knees got frequent injuries, I got tired fast, not to mention I could not break the 5-mile distance.

Fast forward to this date, I enjoy running. I do a few half ironman a year and I love it. I have no more injuries. I even crave running if I miss one.

What changed?

Better technique and patience.

I hired a few coaches over the years and watched most, if not all, running videos on YouTube. Here is their advice that helped me to learn how to run smart, not hard:

  • Straight Back. This opens up lungs, better breathing and also doesn’t feel as tiring as when you lean looking down.
  • Lean Forward. Proper leaning forward takes a bit of practice. My coach advised me to practice with leaning to the fence and then go for a run from this position so your body memorizes this.
  • Proper Breathing. The best runners try to keep their heart rate (HR) low and consistent. This helps in so many ways and makes running feel like a morning jog.
  • Hands Next to Body. Don’t waste energy by swinging like Mayweather, learn to keep your hands next to your waist with small swings.
  • Strength Exercise— Your glutes & abdominal muscles are perhaps the most important muscles for good running form. Give your butt muscles some love. I had frequent ITB injuries due to weak glutes, very painful! Avoid my mistakes.
  • Stretch — flexibility helps to prevent injuries. Ideally, after the warm-up, take it easy, and make it a daily habit.
  • Relax. Wait what? How do you relax on the run? Well, learn to relax by checking your breathing, pace, and posture every 10 minutes, also simply tell yourself this is an easy run.
  • Cold Showers. I know what you are thinking. But short cold showers solve most of humanity's problems. Trust me. Faster recovery & reduced inflammation = less injuries.

Most importantly:

Be Patient.

Good things take time, starting with an easy pace is the fastest way to progress. Start running like a wild dog and you will spend two months sitting at home with an injury.

It also helps to have someone to record you.

My first coach recorded a video of my run. Whoa, what a shocker to me!

I was embarrassed. It must have been painful for the coach to watch me. Sorry for the experience.

Tips to get you up and running:

  • Join a local club, running group, or simply have your friend join you.
  • Hire a coach.
  • Copy the Best. I started watching other guys on the track field and it felt like an art performance.
  • Just start! Doesn’t matter if it's short, or a walk-run. Just start.

I can see it already — one day you will run that marathon you have on your list!

So, what are you waiting for fearless runners? Go for a run, today!

About the Author

Hi there! I‘m Tomas Janik, a European expat living in the US. Real estate investor, developer, hospitality, and proptech enthusiast.

I love world travel and learning.

If you’re thirsty for valuable insights on world travel, healthy lifestyle, real estate investing, proptech, and hospitality trends, then buckle up and hit that follow button! Trust me, you won’t regret it.

I am the founder of RitzandHammock.com, an early startup focusing on converting vacant commercial spaces into cash-flowing assets.

Connect with me on Linkedin.

Happy reading, my friends!

--

--

Tomas Janik

European expat living in US. Real Estate Investor & Triathlete. Passionate about healthy lifestyle, development, hospitality and how to live fulfilling life.