Where You Want To Be in 5 Years?

Tomas Janik
4 min readJul 3, 2023

If I were to do this again, this is what I would do in my 20s & 30s.

Do yourself a BIG favor, pause, and practice visualization.

5 years might seem like a lot. Well, it’s not.

When you are young, there is an abundance of time. You can afford to waste a few months or even a year in your 20s.

Not so much in your 30s and 40s.

While nobody has a crystal ball, and it’s practically impossible to plan years ahead, let’s approach this as a visualization practice.

The more you practice this, the more options will start to surface.

6 Practice Tips:

  1. Focus on What You Love Doing.

In my 20s I obsessively focused on making and saving money. Regardless of what direction I was going.

There is nothing wrong with the money-making desire, except I didn’t see the BIG picture.

I managed to waste “only” 7 years of my life. Lol.

I worked 2 or 3 jobs at a time, usually 7 days a week.

My engineering degree from Europe didn’t count in America.

The point is to start thinking early about where you put your energy and time.

The earlier you start visualizing who and where you want to be in your life, the better future will await.

Eventually, various paths led me to work in real estate development, which I truly love.

So, for you, I would encourage you to find your passion in connection with what you can get paid for. The Ikigai diagram is a great tool to get you started.

2. Equity v. Employment.

This one is obvious, yet not so obvious when you are young.

When I was laid off from a development company I worked for 11 years, I received no severance pay, and no equity earned. Just a simple and short goodbye.

Fortunately, I was proactive on my own, invested, and earned my own equity.

So, for you, I hope you start thinking about EQUITY today.

Employment is to make a living. Equity is to build security for your future.

Whether it’s company stocks, options, shares, side hustle/ startup, or real estate investing, equity over time is bigger than any paycheck you earn.

3. Investing.

Today, there are gazillion ways to invest: crowdfunding platforms, stocks, a friend’s project, real estate, or even your own project.

Research a subject you like and feel comfortable with and start investing today. It will pay off.

The skills and experience you acquire along the way will make you a better investor in the future.

Don’t be afraid to take a risk, be bold, and start today.

Real estate investing is a great way to get into long-term passive income.

4. Invest in Yourself.

Clearly, the skills you acquire today will move you forward tomorrow.

In my era we didn’t have such robust platforms like Coursera, today’s generation can literally become experts in any field within a couple of months.

Take advantage of these platforms, and learn something new.

5. Fearless Networking.

Networking is priceless. The people you meet today can open up new doors to your future.

This is a two-way street, help others succeed and the karma will reciprocate.

Don’t take new contacts for granted, appreciate their time, provide value, or just be a good listener.

The easiest way to start is simply to contact peers in your field via Linkedin.

6. Healthy Mind.

Above all protect your inner space and your health. Without health or mental clarity, it’s hard to see the future.

Make this your priority, morning workout routine, healthy eating habits, meditation, and mindfulness.

A healthy mind can and will move mountains. Go for a Run.

Conclusion.

It’s not all about money or career, it truly is about happiness in the long run.

Start planning a better future today, and take the first step by visualizing your future self.

I don’t know where I will be 5 years from now, all I know is, that I want to enjoy the journey.

Wishing you all boldness on your journey!

About the Author

Hi there! I‘m Tomas Janik, a European expat living in the US.

A passionate real estate investor, hospitality and health enthusiast.

I love world travel and learning about new business ideas.

If you’re thirsty for more valuable insights on healthy lifestyles, world travel, real estate investing, and hospitality trends, then buckle up and hit that follow button! Trust me, you won’t regret it.

I am the founder of RitzandHammock.com, an early startup focusing on converting vacant commercial spaces into cash-flowing assets.

Connect with me on Linkedin.

Happy reading, my friends!

--

--

Tomas Janik

European expat living in US. Real Estate Investor & Triathlete. Passionate about healthy lifestyle, development, hospitality and how to live fulfilling life.