THE MUDDLED MYSTERY OF THE MURDERED MUSE, Chapter 31: …The Next Morning

John T. Trigonis
1 min readJul 15, 2016

--

The Muddled Mystery of the Murdered Muse is a full-length novel, presented to you in Medium-sized chapters twice a week (Tuesday and Friday), that tells the story of Sebastian Holden, a paranoirmal investigator who solves the strangest cases this side of Jersey City and Brooklyn.

If you missed the previous chapter, read it here; if you’ve already read this chapter, read the next one here.

CHAPTER 31: THE NEXT MORNING

By the time the Funyuns were all digested and the morning sun started poking though the trees, the ranger was gone, out the bathroom window like a ghost come the morning air.

So much for low constitution scores!

That’s when Matt Roller tapped me on the shoulder.

“He’s gone, Sebastian,” he said, knowing that I already knew this. So I spouted out the obvious.

“I know, Matt.”

“Yeah. But I lifted this off him before he went the bathroom.”

And in Matt’s sweaty, Funyun-crusted hand, it was one of the ranger’s d20s.

Or should I say one of the ranger’s d21s!

Maybe what I held in my hand was secretly loaded like the gun that killed Annie Hathaway.

Or perhaps it could conjure up the exact mathematical magic to point me in the right direction.

>> Continue reading: Chapter 32: Smile >>

--

--

John T. Trigonis

Author, professor, and former “Zen Master” of crowdfunding. Getting back to basics in these weekly writings.