Clothes make a statement

TwentieFour
Twentie Four
Published in
3 min readOct 23, 2016

3 reasons why focusing on design pays off

Illustration by Sandy van Helden

Liever in het Nederlands? Klik hier.

Every month I eat at an inspiring impact entrepreneur’s home. Here I share with you what I noticed about this pioneer.

This week: Tony Tonnaer — founder of sustainable denim brand Kings of Indigo (also know as K.O.I.). K.O.I. was founded in 2012 and voted #1 most sustainable brand in Europe.

Tony, this denim looks very good on you. I no longer notice the spacious house, with lots of light and a very large bookcase, because I’m breathlessly looking at this man wrapped in tough denim. He knows exactly what he wants.

Invest time in doing what you’re good at
First and foremost, he wants a stunning pair of jeans that are also comfortable. I agree, because I’ve been wearing their pants for years. Within K.O.I. Tony as a creative director is responsible for this. He mainly focuses on the design, not on the business side. “This way, I don’t have to be unnaturally tough. That’s not who I am.”

His book shelter.

Good design sells
For retailers, the model of the jeans is important. Until recently, a label being organic was enough to buy pants from. But not anymore! These days, the design is the most significant aspect. For Tony, this has always been a priority and sustainability comes secondary. For example, he never bought a Prius, the first hybrid vehicle. “But when a product is beautifull and sustainable it makes 1+1=3”

Dare to take the lead
In addition to the design, Tony intents to reduce the negative impact the production has on nature. He wants to challenge the denim industry with his choice of material. That is why K.O.I. experiments with the production by using less water. The amount that can be saved depends on the washing of the jeans, which they brought down to an average of 50%. “The lack of water is reflected in the fabric of our jeans. We play with it and that is our strenght. ”

His roof terrace with view over Amsterdam.

But don’t exert yourself
We have to be quiet when we walk up the stairs, because his youngest child is sleeping. Overlooking Amsterdam at his roof terrace, I ask him if he always had such a focus. Then he tells me about how it went wrong at Kuyichi, his previous employer. As a manager, he had felt responsible for the entire business. “If you want to control every part of the business the chances are high that you’ll tire yourself.”

This startup was recommended by Strawberry Earth Creative Agency.

Curious for more? Check the Facebook page Twentie Four: Fix the world and make money.

--

--

TwentieFour
Twentie Four

Is a creative studio that cultivates positive change.