You’ve seen a lot of stuff about Florent and all his amazing drawings, now it’s time to highlight the work of our fabulous 3D Artist Hugo Lucas aka Dunkel.

Hugo has an incredible talent and seeing him working is quite something.

Hugo and Florent work together, pretty much like Batman & Robin.

Indeed Florent first draw the Unirexes or the accessories then Hugo give life to them by creating 3D renders and assemble all the attributes together in order to have the most badass looking Unirexes in the game.

The most important thing is to ensure I translate well the 2D concept to 3D without losing the appeal, silhouette and energy. We often have to find solutions to make the design work in 3D. Therefore I try to keep in touch as much as I can with Florent to validate things or adjust some others, and loose the less time I can.

Hugo is using many programs/softwares in order to express his creativity.

I often start all my 3D projects in Zbrush which is a sculpting program, because it feels more natural and creative to me.

Depending on the asset I can switch to 3DS Max or Blender for more classic modeling.

The most important part in an NFT project is to make sure that each character (Unirex) have their own personalities and none of them look the same.

One big part of my job is to make the Unirexes unique and then give several possibilities for each asset I make.

For some clothes for example, I’ve been doing up to 9 texture variations. In order to do that I try to keep my process as simple and automatic as I can.

There is a lot of apsects in 3D design, and Hugo have to work with other persons involved in the project at every levels: draws, algorithmic generation etc…

After producing the assets in 3D I bring them in a rendering setup made in Blender. Integrating those in the software requires creating materials and sometimes building procedural shaders to generate different looks for a single object.

On the other hand I have to communicate a lot with Mohammed who’s in charge of the generation algorithm, to keep things tidy and make sure nothing breaks regarding 3D. I also have to write down rules to avoid combining assets that doesn’t fit together that he translates to code.

Pretty much like Florent, the music is driving Hugo’s work :

Concerning the mood I’m working in, I try not to loose focus and listen to a lot of Lo-fi or classical music playlists. I really enjoy working at night with low lights and soft sounds.

Feel free to ask us any question if you want us to specify some points of the 3D creation process on Twitter, in the next volume you’ll learn more on the comic books creation.

Check Hugo’s work on his social medias:

Don’t forget to join us on all our networks:

--

--