Travel Notes from a Creative Journey: 2019 week 7

Abigail Epstein
2 min readFeb 17, 2019

--

What I’m learning

Photo by Joe Green on Unsplash

2018 was The Year of Transition. I thought I’d be able to share all I was learning in my online gallery, but I eventually realized communication is like garlic. A little more is usually a good idea. Just kidding — a lot more is a good idea.

I still am not sure how to shape 2019. The Year of Routines? The Year of Writing a Metric Boatload? The Year of Wishing I Was Napping?

Any ideas?

What I’m excited about:

I’m trying a variation of THIS 8 week schedule. Instead of 8 weeks, I’m doing six weeks of productive routine, and one week of play. It’s not exactly a vacation, because I’m still spending business time on business.

I almost skipped my week of play, because I lost so much time to illness. Also, to be perfectly honest, I was avoiding the public eye while shoring up my mental defenses. Both writing and visual art require a certain amount of vulnerability. At the time, my vulnerability well had run dry.

But, I realized if I didn’t start giving myself the scheduled time for play, I wouldn’t trust myself to be a good boss.

So, I gave myself the week to engage in creative play.

I experimented with Mod Podge and read up on some fun skills. I toyed with ways to reuse old paintings and played with fountain pen inks. My fingers are stained and I love it.

Now, I’m really looking forward to going back to painting!

What I’ve learned:

I’m learning how to give myself permission. Permission to play with creativity, to give my brain time to cast nets far and wide and wildly missing where I thought the water was. Permission to move forward. Permission to act like I have permission.

I’ve learned that there are all manner of unexpected ways I’m waiting for permission, and I don’t even know it. Journaling helps.

I’m Abigail and I’m an early career visual artist in New York state with a full time job and a love of writing. I explore personal growth and nostalgia in my work using magical and natural imagery. You can find my gallery here.

--

--

Abigail Epstein

Visual artist, mental health advocate, silly soul. Join the mailing list for e-zines, coupons, and early access to available work: https://goo.gl/c4XbUI