My Experience Conducting A Thinking Aloud Test

Victor Ugoo Njoku
4 min readJul 9, 2022

--

Learning to conduct thinking aloud tests is the highlight of taking a course on User Experience and Interaction Design for me. In an earlier blog, I had written about why I chose to study content strategy. User Experience (UX) and Interaction Design (ID) is one of the courses listed for this semester. I had some doubts about how I was going to perform in the course. But I was pleasantly surprised by how well things went.

Thinking Aloud Test, User Experience Research, UX Research
Thinking Aloud Test

User Interaction (UI) and UX design (UXD) have almost become buzzwords. At least it seems so in the Nigeria tech space. Within the last couple of years, Nigeria Tech Twitter always has found ways to make it sound like anyone not getting a tech skill is wasting their own lives. UI/UX design has been one of the most advertised skills. The good thing about it is that one doesn’t need to learn to code, they said. That was what caught my attention about UI/UX design. Years ago I dropped out of my self-taught coding class. I learnt HTML syntax but struggled with the following programming languages. I figured that if UI/UX doesn’t require coding I might quickly learn it.

But that wasn’t the experience I had. I should mention that this time around, I paid and registered for an online class. I started the online class right after starting a new job that turned out more stressful and time-consuming than I imagined. Point was that I didn’t have so much time to spare for my UI/UX design class. I tried playing around with Figma as advised by my tutor, but I seemed to forget the little I learned from the class whenever I logged into Figma. I lost interest and decided that UI/UX design wasn’t for me.

That explains why I wasn’t ready for the jolly ride I would have whilst taking a course entitled, User Experience and Interaction Design. I was so sure that I would struggle with it. But the lecturer was determined to make it a good experience for me. In one of the classes, she mentioned the thinking aloud test while we discussed user experience research (UXR). I remember asking a few questions because I was curious about this method of research and how efficient it would be. I raised my doubts about a user being able to use a system (website, app, etc) and still be able to comfortably share their thoughts. I also questioned the tendency of the test to be subjective. But the lecturer was patient and willing to answer my questions.

Then she would introduce us to a task we had to work on. We were to work in groups. Each group would decide between a heuristic evaluation and thinking aloud test. I thought that I would prefer the thinking aloud test. I was glad my group members preferred it too.

Then the journey started. None of us had any experience conducting thinking aloud tests. We had to build on what we learned from our classes by conducting further research individually and as a group. I remember having doubts about my group’s ability to pull off the thinking aloud test. But we found a helpful thinking aloud test plan that served as a guide. With this guide, we were able to ascertain what needed to be done and subsequently assigned responsibilities to each group member. Another group member and I were assigned to draft the introductory questions. I understood these questions were supposed to help the test users relax and prepare them for the test. I drafted as many questions as I could think of. I figured I could narrow it down eventually, which I did. Then I shared my ideas with the rest of the group members, and we selected suitable ones. I also worked on the consent form with another group member.

After we gathered everything needed for the test, we had to talk about the test users and how to conduct the test. Our pilot test user performed the test. Then the group members performed the test with our other test users. While conducting the test, the recording stopped automatically. Thankfully I was paying attention and caught it on time. I got it working immediately, as the test needed to be recorded. The experience taught me the need to be observant while conducting thinking aloud tests. I also learnt that one has to make adequate provisions for hardware because any hardware could easily malfunction during the test. I also noticed that the test user’s experience of the app we tested was quite different from my own experience of the app. I remember wondering what the experience of other test users would be.

I analysed the responses of the test user and compared the experience of the other test users. I saw that there were similarities and yet some differences. It made sense to me how the information derived from the test could be helpful. By the time I presented my group’s work in class, the doubts I raised earlier about the efficiency of the thinking aloud test were cleared. While I agree that the test is subjective, I can see how such a test could help perceive users’ experience and guide a brand looking to improve their app, website and systems to meet their users’ needs.

I also felt confident about learning a new skill. I am once again open to learning more about UI/UX design. That interest didn’t spring up only because I completed a thinking aloud test with my group. I was motivated by other encounters during the course.

--

--