GSoC 2024 with OpenMRS : Week 02

Vijay KV
2 min readJun 7, 2024

--

The second coding week started on the 03rd of July 2024. As usual, I will be talking about how the second week of coding went. The week 01 blog post can be read here. In this blog post, I’ll be sharing the experience of my second week in GSOC 2024.

During the last week my mentor pointed out my implementation for patient-registration and After the discussion, I started refactoring the code again which took some time. Also it was mentioned as for temporary usage, we can make use of the configuration system in OpenMRS to trigger the onboarding when user manually enables it.

During the weekly call I discussed some of technical difficulties I’m facing with my mentor, also we talked about which is the best way that we can have the Walkthroughs and how it needs to be implemented as an extensions and extension-slot. I also got a feedback to use the icon from Help Menu in the carbon design system.

In this week, I also started working on the implementation of help menu in the esm-core from where once clicked, user’s will be given a set of options like Tutorials, Walkthroughs, Docs and Release notes. I’ve created an JIRA ticket for this feature and will be drafting an PR on the next week.

I was also asked to write a descriptive document that shows the the description on each onboarding in each page, so that we can get the confirmation from the design team parallel when we are implementing them I’ve created a separate Wiki Page for that. You can view it here.

Plans for Next Week

  • Implementing Help Menu: Make a PR for the implementation of Help menu by taking inspirations from the Zeplin designs.

That’s how the second week went. Follow my OMRS Talk thread and Wiki Page for more updates. See you next week!

--

--