Photo by Adam Przeniewski on Unsplash

Embracing Ramadan Day 20: A Little Kindness

Wrapped in sweet mango pudding

Insan
3 min readMar 31, 2024

--

The sun began its descent towards the horizon and I embarked on my afternoon walk to satisfy my craving for a sweet treat to break my fast. The anticipation had been building for days, and finally, the moment had arrived. With a rumble in my stomach and a steady heart, I set off towards the food court where a stack of delights awaited. The aroma of freshly baked pastries and aromatic spices filled the air, teasing my senses and fueling my determination. Ramadan. A time for reflection, and spiritual growth, and a time to showcase the diversity of desserts and culinary creativity.

As I approached the dessert counter, my mind was already envisioning the perfect treat to end my fast. Chocolate eclairs? Baklava? Perhaps a slice of rich cheesecake? The possibilities were endless, and my taste buds danced with excitement. Anything sweet but not too sweet can do.

My eyes scanned the menu, and one thing piqued my interest, sweet mango pudding with ripe mango slices. The colour just mesmerizing and makes you feel warm yet refreshed inside. I picked up two cups immediately, went to the counter with one iced tea and was about to pay. I reached into my bag, prepared to find my wallet but then, my fingers brushed against… nothing.

Panic surged through me like an electric shock as I frantically searched every pocket and space in my tote bag, desperately hoping to find the missing money. But alas, it was nowhere to be found. “Oh no,” I mutter, more to myself than to the auntie. “I… I seem to have forgotten my wallet at home”. How could I have been so forgetful? In my eagerness to reach the food court, I had left my wallet behind, sitting innocently on the desk at home. The auntie’s smile faltered a bit, but thankfully, she didn’t erupt into judgment. “Oh dear,” she said, a hint of concern in her voice.

Feeling defeated, I turned to leave, resigned to the fact that tonight’s dessert dreams would have to wait. I walk to the side and try to find changes or anything that can give me one cup of the mango pudding but I find nothing. I began to retreat, time to walk back home and then a voice called out to me.

“Excuse me, you forgot something!” a cheerful voice exclaimed, and I turned to see a friendly face beaming at me from behind. I blinked in surprise, unsure of what to expect. The person behind me in the queue reached out and handed me a plastic bag with two cups of sweet mango pudding and iced tea.

“It’s on the house,” they said with a smile.

I was speechless, overwhelmed by the unexpected act of generosity. With a grateful nod and a heartfelt “thank you,” I accepted the gift. I couldn’t say anything more until they walked to their vehicle and waved me goodbye. The feeling of gratitude washed over me and as I walked away, the weight of the situation finally hit me. Here I was, a grown adult who’d forgotten her wallet, saved by the sheer generosity of a stranger. It was a humbling experience, a reminder of the inherent kindness that exists in the world.

The walk back home was different this time. The disappointment of a mango-less iftar had vanished, replaced by a warmth that had nothing to do with the approaching feast. It was a delicious reminder that sometimes, the greatest gifts in life aren’t bought, but given freely. So, to the kind stranger at the food court, thank you

Day 20 Ramadan 1445 H

yesterday’s story here: Embracing Ramadan Day 19: The Food Chronicles

  • 📜 I am planning to do 30 Days writing for the entire Ramadan Month
  • ☕ If you enjoy my writing and want to support me, you can Buy Me a Coffee here.

--

--

Insan

Trying to find my place in the world. Additionally, I can write you a short story in exchange for a coffee. Support me in Kofi https://ko-fi.com/insavi