#365DaysOfWriting – Day 171

I’ve never really understood EDM

Kung Fu Panda
1 min readOct 26, 2016

Or Electronic Dance Music, as it’s known. It feels like an assault on my senses most of the time. I feel if played at a lower volume, it may serve some purpose.

If it has to be instrumental, give me Carnatic/Western Classical/jazz any day.

I’m one of those people who just like to shut their eyes and let the music play (no pun intended). Classical music is perfect for that. It transports me to a different dimension. I love the music from the violin, cello, mridangam, shehnai, sarod, sitar, trumpet/saxophone (I ENJOY jazz – Miles Davis is a favourite), and so on.

I’m a huge country fan too.

Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash are my go-to team for relaxation. Cash especially, which is why I was waxing eloquent about that Logan trailer – it used one of my favourite covers, Hurt, beautifully. I even have a limited edition set of CDs of Cash The Legend (thanks to a good friend).

Thank you Lindsay!

So yeah, with all these options, why would I ever listen to EDM? Maybe it’s not for me…

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.