#365DaysOfWriting – Day Seventy-Four

You know what’s special about 74?

Kung Fu Panda
2 min readJul 21, 2016

Aside of the fact that it’s a multiple of 37?

Nothing, silly. It’s just my birthday today. My 31st birthday. Yes, I’m well into my 30s now. Although it doesn’t feel that way at all.

Last year, I had written a self-searching post about turning the big Three-Zero. You can read about it here. I’ve realised today that truly, age is just a number (as the cliché goes). You can only feel old if you want to. I have this stubborn, child-like streak in me that makes me not want to grow up. Now, now, this doesn’t mean I act immature and stupid – I still take ‘adult’ decisions, but I always think of myself as a child. That helps me keep my sanity in a lot of ways.

There has been the usual plethora of birthday wishes on Facebook, of course.

But I’ve also got calls, texts (both Whatsapp and SMS) and since I was at work today, a lot of hugs from co-workers and friends. My team actually made my day by having a little cake-cutting session outside. It was a total surprise and I felt so happy – as you know, it’s the little things that matter.

So what’s the new thing I learnt about myself this year?

Possibly that the more I change, the more I remain the same. I can’t fundamentally change who I am as a person. I will always be me. But I have learnt a lot of new things in the last one year. Most importantly, I’ve learnt that I can adapt well to most situations. Learning is a lifetime experience – it never stops.

Anyway, that’s enough rambling on my birthday. Give me the best gift – tap the little green heart below!

PS: Oh today is also the beginning of the India-West Indies test series. Fun fact: The last time a series started on my birthday, India lost 0–4.

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.