An Unofficially Official End to Mike* Stories

Or maybe it’s just a hiatus

Stella J. McKenna
3 min readAug 22, 2016

Starting Navigating the Sea of Singledom, both in publication form and in real life, was a new and exciting endeavor for me. In the beginning, I started off documenting my dates because there were kind of a lot of them and some of them made for interesting stories. I was figuring out how to date, who to date, and I was figuring out who the hell I am.

If you followed along with that series of dates, you probably noticed a trend. Dates came and went, but I always swooped back around to one person: Mike*. Not just Mike. Mike*. It’s essential that I note the use of the asterisk because in real life he is not a “Mike”. The things I write about Mike*, though, are all true in real life. The stories are real, the characteristics are accurate, the conversations actually happened. You can find all of my Mike stories under the tag mike-story on Medium. There might be some you didn’t even realize were Mike.

Needless to say, Mike has provided me with a lot of writing material over the course of 18 months. That’s because he’s been the source of a lot of emotions I’ve experienced in those 18 months — lust, anger, frustration, joy, peace, confusion, happiness. Almost without even knowing it, he’s helped me grow as a person. He’s helped me navigate the Sea of Singledom, as corny as that is, and he’s helped me figure out me. As much as he and I hate to admit that we may actually have feelings for each other, I need to admit it: I have feelings for Mike. They may even be big feelings. And he has feelings for me, and I know this because I can feel them and I can see them. He’s an important person in my life and it’s not just because of the sex.

The time has come, faithful reader, for me to declare an Unofficially Official End to Mike* Stories

(or maybe it’s just a hiatus — who knows what the future holds)

Why???” you may be asking, “What happened? Was it the STD? Did he fade away?

No, neither of those things is the reason. It turns out, both of those were mere hiccups that inexplicably drew us closer. The reason is because of something more like this:

or like this:

Basically, it’s a good thing!

Mike and I are… I don’t know what to call it. There is no suitable label. But I think it’s safe to say we are “A Thing”.

We are evolving. I suppose we have been evolving for the past few months toward something a bit more substantial than we were before.

And I don’t feel it’s right to write about those details anymore.

Whoa. Can you believe that? I almost don’t believe it myself.

Mike has become such A Thing that I don’t think it’s right to write about it publicly, that I want it to be our thing — his and mine. Almost as if it were something special.

This doesn’t mean I won’t be writing at all. I will, I’m sure. This doesn’t mean Navigating the Sea of Singledom is over. It’s not. I still have lots of navigating to do, and so do all the other writers who contribute. It just means that something is changing and so perhaps my stories will have a different slant. I don’t know what that looks like yet.

But I know I care about Mike* enough to want to keep that Thing a little bit sacred. Just a little. At least for now while we figure out what the Thing is. I’ve obviously shared (or maybe over-shared) a lot of intimate details already, but it ends for now.

Wish me luck. This relationship stuff is strange ❤

* Names have been changed, as you already know, to protect the innocent.

If you like what you just read, please recommend it and then check out more of my ramblings on Medium or tweet me @writingsolo.

--

--

Stella J. McKenna

Mystery woman by day. Writer by night. Hopeless yet unrelenting 24–7. I like to contemplate: love, sex, feelings, quantum physics, and pop music lyrics.