A Techtonic Shift of My Journey

How & Why did I drop off my college and get admission to Masai School.

Yadavamanroy

--

Hello readers, A warm welcome to you all, and thanks for coming here.

My name is Aman Raj. I’m from Gaya, Bihar. I completed my computer science & engineering diploma from New Government Polytechnic, Patna-13 in 2021. After that, I got admission to MAKAUT, West Bengal but here is why I dropped out from there and become a part of the amazing journey of Masai school.

What is Masai School :

Masai School is an outcome-driven skill-building school, which started in 2019. This is introducing a new model of higher education, where they first invest in their students and only get paid when the student gets a job of 5LPA or more.

Where did I come to know about this?

In 2020, while in the evening walk I was listing to a TEDx talk by a young man, who was trying to do some remarkable changes in the Indian education system. His name was Prateek Shukla, founder and CEO of Masai school. That was the day when I first come to know that this type of school also exists in India.

But as with other things, I also forgot about this, after some time.

My Situation before joining Masai school:

In the last semester of my diploma, I was preparing for the semester and BTech lateral entry exams.

when I was preparing for my exams from home

But in the back of my mind, another thought was going on. What after this? Do I want to do the same things which I was doing for previously 3 years? Chasing for marks and degree. Or something else?

same question as millions of other students have, DEGREE vs SKILLS

With these, I was also exploring new things and technologies. like Android development, web development, ethical hacking, etc.

After the exam, got a fair rank and got admission to a good public university. I was happy about that. although, I was thinking about something else.

My final techtonic shift :

I have still remembered that night of 9th Oct 2021, just after 3 days, I had to go to my college. But that night I searched for “backend web development course” on Google and on the top I saw ads for Masai school.

And I have just gone to the website for curiosity and that click changed my life in just one night, that night I didn’t sleep and the whole night I was searching about it & went through every aspect. That morning, I talked to one of my good friends, Ravi Ranjan.

After having a long discussion, We both decided to join Masai school.

When I told this to my parents and other friends:

After that I talked to many other friends about it, then most of them said that

why are you doing this ?

you should go to college and get more exposures

this is the time to enjoy your life. it is not the right age to get into a job.

But I thought having exposure to the professional world is far better than doing the same things for the next 3 years, which I was doing for previously 3 years.

But when I went to my parents and told them. I need 30 weeks to learn some new things, and I want to drop out my college. and with the reply I went shocked, My father just said, do what you feel is good for you.

And now I’m a student of Masai School and currently pursuing a Java Backend course in unit 4.

Here is Why I think this was and a techtonic shift of my life. My life at Masai School.

--

--