Sacramento, California

Jack’s Urban Eats, Old Tavern and Henry’s Lounge

Tyler Goelz
A Beard Across America
3 min readNov 9, 2014

--

This story is an excerpt from A Beard Across America, read more excerpts here.

Sacramento was a city that I had no expectations for. I wasn’t sure what I would find. I simply chose the city because I had heard the name before.

I found a really nice hostel right in the heart of downtown. The hostel resided in a Victorian style mansion built in the 1880's by a Gold Rush millionaire.

The most interesting part about the hostel in Sacramento is the amount of traveling the 350-ton building itself has done.

In 1994, five years after the mansion was donated to Golden Gate Council of American Youth Hostels (now Hostelling International USA, Golden Gate Council) under one condition: it had to be moved to a new site, hundreds of people came to see the 350-ton structure be moved to the other side of H Street. In 2001, it was moved back to it’s original location in order to expand Sacramento’s City Hall. The City and Hosteling International both agree, this is the last move.

When I got to Sacramento, I still had a few hours before I could check into the hostel. After the night I had in San Francisco the night before and dropping Kimmi off at the airport earlier that morning, I was ready to recover for a couple hours before getting back out on the town anyway.

After a quick power-nap, I was ready to sample some local food and nightlife. Like most of my other searches for a place to visit in a new city, I type in “breweries near me”. I found Rubicon Brewing Company.

During my second beer, I noticed am man sitting next to me watching the baseball game playing on the TV. The team from my hometown was playing. I asked him if he followed baseball and he responded, “No, just kind of staring through the TV.” A conversation sprouted from both of our disinterests in sports.

We talked about lots of different things, but one topic that stuck out was the legality of marijuana. After about 10 minutes of chatting, he asked me to smoke with him, which I gratefully declined. As much as I’m for the legalization of weed, I don’t actually enjoy the experience. So, I stick to my craft beers and fine spirits.

We talked for about another half hour before it was time to eat. The dude I was talking to was a local so I asked him where his favorite spot to eat was. As he thought, he couldn’t name just one place so he asked his buddy sitting a few bar stools down for a second opinion. His buddy quickly responded without hesitation, “Jack’s Urban Eats for sure. AND they’re right across the street.”

I hope you enjoyed this excerpt from A Beard Across America. To finish this story and more like it, sign up for your FREE copy of A Beard Across America at www.ABeardAcrossAmerica.com

Get the rest of this chapter and more at abeardacrossamerica.com

Be The First To Read A Beard Across America

The eBook isn’t quite ready, but have no fear, sign up and you will receive a personal email with a FREE copy as soon as it is finished.

Sign up at A Beard Across America

--

--