Wichita, Kansas

Family Friends, Homemade Pizza and Worldly News Theories

Tyler Goelz
A Beard Across America
2 min readApr 17, 2014

--

This story is an excerpt from A Beard Across America, read more excerpts here.

Until I reached Wichita, CouchSurfing had only led me to bachelors & couples, but this time I would stay with a whole family. Eddy, his wife Rema and their daughter Norah would be my hosts during my stay in Kansas.

Not only would this be their first time hosting, but they were sharing Norah’s fourth birthday with me.

It all started with an eager message from Eddy about a week before I was scheduled to be in Wichita. We shared a lot of interest in technology, good food and craft beer. I was instantly excited to meet him and his family.

Eddy shared this excitement the second I showed up and handed him a home brewed beer from Brad and Marybeth, the couple I stayed with in Forth Worth.

During introductions, Norah told me point blank she was going to be shy.

That lasted all of about 5 minutes. She was definitely a darling and full of energy.

Eddy and I shared a beer and discussed technology, my trip so far and some of his experiences of Kansas. He and Rema were born in Kansas, but not big fans of the state. He told me of their plans to move either somewhere else in the US or to Europe.

We both had to do some work, so Eddy set up a make shift desk and we both went heads down until dinner, only coming up for homemade cookies Rema had made.

I hope you enjoyed this excerpt from A Beard Across America. To read more stories like this one, sign up for your FREE copy of A Beard Across America at www.ABeardAcrossAmerica.com

Get the rest of this chapter and more at abeardacrossamerica.com

Be The First To Read A Beard Across America

The eBook isn’t quite ready, but have no fear, sign up and you will receive a personal email with a FREE copy as soon as it is finished.

Sign up at A Beard Across America!

--

--