Time Has No Meaning

Pandemic Haibun Challenge

Esther Spurrill-Jones
A Cornered Gurl

--

A pair of human hands with white skin and blue sleeves wearing a digital watch on the left wrist. The right hand is holding the watch face between thumb and forefinger, possibly pressing a button on the side of the watch. The time on the watch reads “5:42.”
Photo by Luke Chesser on Unsplash

I’ve always had trouble gauging time passing. If I have a book to read, hours fly by without notice. If I have nothing to do, I feel every tick of the clock as an eternity. However, through trial and error, I have taught myself to “guesstimate” time passing to some extent. And yet, since 2020, I cannot do that anymore. Days stretch into ages, years shrink to nothing, hours disappear without a trace, and minutes are an age. It seems like yesterday that I would open a door in a public building without a thought, without immediately washing or sanitizing my hands. And yet, it also feels like I’ve always been cautious of other people’s stupidity in not washing their damn hands!

I can no longer
Estimate hours or days.
Time has no meaning.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
A Cornered Gurl

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.