Thanks Google for being (Auto) Awesome!

Creating memories without any hard work.

Sharon Shaked
3 min readMar 9, 2014

A lot has been said on Google. Some like them, others don’t. Some claim the invasion of privacy is unbearable, others say it’s a price they are willing to pay (having your stuff probed by a robot) in order to get the awesome services they offer.

I won’t call their services free, as their motive is clear: gather information about the user: who you are, what are your likes, where do you like to go, who are your friends, etc. This is a give & take relationship we have with Google. As always: the price is cheap / just right for some, and outright expensive for others. You can choose.

I am a long time Google user. I've started with Gmail and moved to use more services as they came (and for some, went). I wasn't always the big fan I am now. Some of the things that really turned me into a fan:

  • Free Google Apps account for individuals (no longer available, but I am still getting the services for free — which is awesome).
  • Google Chrome — a web browser done right (at least it’s the best you can find).
  • Picasa Web Albums (now Google+ Photos).

But Google’s greatness does not end here. I believe they have hit jackpot by touching our lives individually with 2 complimenting features.

Auto Backup

This is a great service you can activate using any Android/iOS Smartphone. Basically it will backup any photos and videos you take on your phone, to your Google account. There, it is visible by date, and you can tag the photos and share them (if you want to). Think about this for a second: they have enabled me to use my phone as before, but now the photos are stored in the cloud, where they are sorted by date, and allow me to access and view them from anywhere, all the time. One day I will be able to see my son at 2 years old, what we did on each Saturday, etc. that’s awesome. And better yet, I don’t need to waste hours backing up the photos and worrying my phone will get lost or something.

Auto Awesome

Remember Auto Backup? Well photos and videos you upload, that meet a certain criteria, will create awesome effects and videos automatically! For example, yesterday we went to the park. We didn't plan it; I just had my phone, as always. I took a few photos and a few 1 min videos. When I got home, and the phone was connected to Wi-Fi and charging, Google uploaded my videos and photos, and has created a nice 2 min clip, edited, with selectable music and effects, for me! Think about taking a moment to view all clips of the last few years, and you’ll understand Google is at work creating memories for us.

Kudos Google, that’s Awesome.

Further Reading:

Understanding The Client Needs- Lean software recipe

External CSS at the Framework Era- CSS order done right

Life Hack: couch potato to runner in easy 8 weeks- c25k plan

--

--