Life Hack: Back in shape in 8 weeks

c25k: Probably the best couch potato to runner plan ever.

Sharon Shaked
2 min readApr 24, 2014

About 10 years ago, when I was younger, I used this exact plan to get into super shape, so I could run 1 hour (about 10km) a day, 5 days a week. To be completely frank, I was a little surprised the plan is still available online, and its podcast as well.

The c25k (Couch To 5k) program is aimed at couch potatoes like me. It will get you running 5k (30 mins) in just 8 weeks, utilizing 3 workouts per week, each about 30 mins long. So with some effort, you can get yourself in decent shape, doing the recommended amount of weekly workout, in just 2 months.

I found the plan at CoolRunning.com, which had gone through changes since then and is not the cool home for runners as it was back then. Now, its easier to get to the plan through c25k.com. The second link on the page has the plan itself, and you can also find a link to Robert Ullery’s great podcast for each week. He is playing nice upbeat music and lets you know when to start each phase of the workout. It really does make a difference to listen to the podcast during the workout as it builds motivation and helps you through the hard parts.

There are also forums accessible from the link above, and discussing your progress with others really makes a difference in giving you the sense of community. You are not alone!

It has been challenging but I am glad to report I’m done with week 1. This means I now have 7 weeks between me and being a 5k (~3 miles) runner. That’s awesome.

Looking for something to read?

External CSS at the Framework Era- CSS order done right

Thanks Google for being Auto Awesome- easily creating memories

Understanding The Client Needs- Lean software recipe

--

--