Breath of Nature

An ever-abiding influence

Bunmi O.
A Taste for Life
2 min readMar 31, 2023

--

Photo by Steve Johnson via Pexels

Do you have a passageway?
Where lies your resting place?
Are questions we may find the leisure to ask
Or simply toss over in our hearts
After you must have come and gone.

But you never leave
You gallop wildly free
Teasing our senses with your doings
Yet, ever within our reach
Sometimes, you huff and puff like the big bad wolf
Many times, almost like the shadows
Living your life in sync with ours.

You sweep up Tellus
In an unbelievable cyclone
The little ones, eager to share in the fun
Can’t, and so are jealous
The older ones won’t stomach the playful obsession
Blitzing their minds is what could go wrong.

The pine hums and twirls in flawless tune
The cedar stands to stand no more
But for a stump in soil’s core,
The delicate bloom
Gets to complete its life cycle
And it’s all thanks to you.

Azure’s creatures
Powered by your breezy embrace
Gleefully show off ascents, glides and dips,
And yes! The more enormous these feathered beasts,
The more majestic their displays.

The water waves don't have to truckle
You twain
Converse in a familiar language
Of patterns indiscernible.

Even I,
As I watch from a distance
You smoothly caress my face,
Your prints
My hands can't trace.
And after I’ve been forced to lock you out
For a while
Till your tempest has abated
I ache to have you crush against my skin
Again.

Peeking through the skylight,
Whispers of my conviction
Tickle every inch of me
Definitely,
The universe’s every piece
Agrees.

When I saw this writing challenge by Jason Edmunds, I went “Wow! I just have to do this.” Thank you for tagging me as always Jason!

Prompt: What is the magic mojo in the abstract art photo?

I chose abstract image 2 (featured above), and after regarding it for a while, the concept ‘wind’ came to mind. In the above poem, I portray how the wind is a force nature cannot do without.

--

--

Bunmi O.
A Taste for Life

Poet | Creative writer | Inspired by life experiences and lessons | Journey of reflection, growth, and transformation.