7 Things My Mom Does That Make Me Feel Really Good

A piece by Mermaid with Sea-Green Eyes (May Zaben)

Mermaid with Sea-Green Eyes
About Me Stories
3 min readMar 11, 2024

--

Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I have this mermaid sitting on my desk. It’s a little statue I painted at this paint shop in London. It’s got white skin, purple hair, a green tail, and it sits on a blue rock. It’s a mermaid that I think reflects who I am as Mermaid with Sea-Green Eyes.

When I look at this mermaid, I don’t think it reflects me all the time. Sometimes when I look at it, I think of my mom. I think of how grounded she makes me feel like this mermaid. She sits on a rock that doesn’t move, and she’s balanced and put together. I’m like that with my mom. I can think of a dozen moments where she made me feel grounded when I wasn’t feeling good. Here are 7 moments where she did just that:

  1. When I was in school, she made the best treats for me and packed them in my lunch box. When feeling a little overwhelmed for whatever reason (from mean students, crowded classes, and so forth), I’d open the lunch box and remember her. I’d see my favorite sandwich, a chocolate or small snack she prepared, and I’d remember her face.
  2. Her face is the second thing that makes me feel grounded. She’s got a beautiful face, a heart-shaped expression that makes you feel like you’re going to melt, brown eyes that have you sighing for support because your heart’s beating fast, and she has this smile that spreads like honey, dimples that take space and reveal a kind nature. She has something I don’t, those dimples, and when I look at them, I’m okay again.
  3. Another time my mom made me feel really good is when she danced in my bedroom. She entered my room one day and started dancing for no reason. She sang a song that was so nice and I couldn’t help but laugh and smile at how cool she was. She did something just because and it was great. She made me feel great.
  4. She baked these amazing cookies once that when I first ate them, I actually cried. They had this amazing smell, too. If I tried to make anything, God help us all.
  5. When I was watching a movie with my mom, I was really happy. She wasn’t doing anything necessarily, but just being with her made me feel free. We were having popcorn, we had a funny movie on, and everything with her presence was perfect. She was perfect.
  6. She also smelled really good that day, which is another thing that makes me really happy. She wears this perfume that has this amazing smell, that when I hug her and bury my nose in her shoulders and hair, everything’s perfect. Every bad thing is gone.
  7. One last but not actual last thing that my mom does is have so much love for me. One thing that I know will stay true is this. Even if she doesn’t physcially say it, the way she expresses it is enough. Whether it’s through “how are you?” texts or a Facetime call, a hug that says “I love you” or a face that says “I’m proud of you”, I feel good just knowing my mom is there. If you have someone like that in your life, keep them close. It’s so precious.

That’s it, folks. 7 things my mom does that make me feel really good. She’s so special to me, and she’s a part of who I am. Whenever I need a mood booster or just a reminder of what makes me feel good, I’ll think of these little things. If you have anything similar to this or stories you wanna share about a favorite person of yours, please do so in the comments below. Would love to hear from you.

Until next time.

--

--

Mermaid with Sea-Green Eyes
About Me Stories

A girl who wants to write and show her heart to the world: May, or Mermaid with Sea-Green Eyes.