About Me — DawnSherine Bernard

The Coolest Chick that you should know.

--

Rock hound extraordinaire. Selfie by author.

Hi, I am DawnSherine, formally known as the Dancing with Bipolar podcast. This is so strange to write because for nearly 5 years that's who I was and how I identified myself.

Today I'm still DawnSherine but who am I for real?

I am a New Year's baby born the first baby in the state of Connecticut in the year 1965. I have three younger brothers with whom I am not in contact. My parents have been deceased for a long while. Our home was not healthy and each of us bears our own scars.

I am a bio mom to a grown woman whom I have met!

I served our country during the Reagan era. I worked as a crypto linguist for NATO and space command stationed at Ramstein Germany and the Cheyenne Mountain complex in Colorado.

I was a hardcore addict and alcoholic until I was 40. Getting clean and sober is the most defining aspect of my life to date. To clarify I am 420 friendly. When I became substance free it was discovered that I had a slew of underlying psychiatric diagnoses. I accept them but I do not in any way identify myself as my diagnosis anymore.

At this time I live in Flagstaff Arizona with Sir the luckiest guinea pig on earth. I advocate for the homeless and those with mental health issues. I find my greatest joy in life is derived from helping others this is why I started the Dancing with Bipolar podcast which was successful in its mission of helping to destigmatize what it means to have a mental health diagnosis.

I hope to continue helping people through my writing on Medium. My hard niche would be life but I am exploring my options. My real goal on Medium was to be published which I have. I am now improving my writing in hopes of being discovered outside of Medium and having the opportunity to pen a book about my memories of arriving in Arizona and all the tales that have come along in the past 13 years.

@

--

--

Dawnsherine Bernard
About Me Stories

I'm here to write about my life. Mental health, pets, love, and hate. Join me on my journey.