Getting Started (9GAG 101)

What are “Hot”, “Trending” and “Fresh”?

“Hot”, “Trending” and “Fresh” are the sorting system of posts on 9GAG.

  • “Hot” is what’s been getting a lot of upvotes/comments/shares/views recently.
  • “Trending” is what is starting to get some upvotes/comments/shares/views right now.
  • “Fresh” sorts post by the time of upload with the newest on top.

What decides a post gets into “Trending” and “Hot”?

Our popularity ranking is constituted by a combination of the following factors:

  1. Content appropriateness — please refer to 9GAG Rules
  2. Post engagement — the number of upvotes/comments/shares/views a post receives
  3. Timely factors (posts that are timely or those with receives better engagement within a short period of time)

What does “Points” mean?

“Points” = “Upvotes — Downvotes”. In short, it’s the post’s net votes.

What are “Upvote” and “Downvote”?

On a post: Upvote means “I appreciate this,” but it may not necessarily equal to “I agree with this.” Downvote means “I found this boring,” but not it may not necessarily equal “I disagree with this.”

On a comment: Upvote means “This is valuable for the discussion”, but it may not necessarily equal “I agree with this.” nor “I like this.” Downvote means “This is irrelevant for the discussion,” but it may not necessarily equal “I disagree with this.” nor “I don’t like this.”

Can I create a new section?

At the moment all our sections are curated. Setting up sections make it easier to explore content and find stories that are connected to particular interests and passions.

Please give us your suggestions here.

Settings

How can I change E-mail / Password / Personal Profile?

You can edit your registered email, password, personal profile on your profile page. You can’t edit your gender at the moment.

How can I delete my account?

You can delete your account from desktop link

How can I delete my posts?

Go to your post and tap the delete button which is located under the sharing buttons.

How can I delete my votes?

You can un-upvote your liked posts on your profile.

You can also hide your votes from public view by going to Settings → “Private Upvotes”

I forgot my password. How can I change password?

Go on the desktop version. Press ‘Forgot Password’ at the bottom right corner. Or fill in your email address here.

I forgot my email. How can I log in again?

Try log in using your Facebook account (if you did before). Otherwise, you have to open a new account here.

I can’t verify my account. OR I didn’t receive the verification email. Why?

Please check your email’s spam folder. Otherwise, please contact us here

9GAG Pro

What is 9GAG Pro?

9GAG Pro is an awesome way to support 9GAG while unlocking some special features. You can only purchase it on the mobile apps. Currently it has 5 major functions: Auto dark mode, pre-setting auto dark mode time, hiding ads, hiding the button for “new posts” and a “Pro” badge displayed on your profile and next to your username (both on web and app). More features are coming soon too!

I subscribed to 9GAG Pro but I still see ads. Why?

It’s very likely to happen if you have changed to a new phone. You can tap on any 9GAG Pro feature mentioned above, then tap “Restore Purchase”, and then turn off “Show Ads”.

Uploads

How can I upload a post?

It’s easy. After opening an account, you can create a post here.

How can I edit my post?

Currently you can’t. You have to delete the post and make a new upload.

Tagging

I can’t tag my friend in comments. Why?

Currently the quota for tagging friends is three (3). We are reviewing this feature and may extend the limit for tagging soon.

Failings

Upload Failings: I can’t upload my posts / My post disappeared after a successful upload. Why?

This could be for one of two reasons:

  • The auto spam filter identified your posts as spams OR
  • The community/other users downvoted and/or reported your posts

We suggest to try edit your content and re-upload your post — along our best practice.

Comment Failings: I can’t see my comments anymore. Why?

This could be for one of two reasons:

  • The auto spam filter identified your comments as spams OR
  • The community/other users downvoted and/or reported your comments

Multiple Failings: I can’t upload / I can’t comment anymore. Why?

It’s very likely your account is suspended or banned because you have violated our 9GAG rules.

Downloads: I can’t download the gifs / pictures. Why?

It may take some time for Android users to find the saved gifs / pictures in the 9GAG folder in your Gallery. Wait for few minutes for it (them) to load. Or you can try restarting your device.

Report abuse and spam

What should I do if I see inappropriate content?

If you find contents / comments that violate that 9GAG Rules, let us know by our report function.

Still Questions? Contact us here.

--

--