The One With The Brew Blog

Aaron Blake
AB’s Blog
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2019
Image via Pexels

Welcome everyone to my blog about craft beer and coffee in the Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina and some of Eastern Tennessee. I decided the run-on name of ‘Bear’s Brew Blog,’ as my given nickname of a group of friends and commonality of seeing bears in our mountains. I hope you guys are thirsty for more knowledge on a topic so prevalent to our college-aged, young-professional culture. The idea is to inform you of a popular subject in the Appalachian mountains and motivate you even, to try, purchase and support our state’s breweries.

Craft beer for me has been important to me since I’ve been legal to drink for a few reasons, and I feel that the same may apply to you as well. For starters, craft beers are unique to a city or state and carry local ingredients and flavors, the brewery’s sales contribute to the local economy and their consumers take great pride in their niche beers. The same can be said for ‘premium’ coffees, but I’ll expand on that in later posts.

Craft beer has the ability to bring people together and it can even subtly influence the culture in a specific city or region. I am fascinated with these things and want to stick my nose into the informational side of things, making my presence known.

Expanding on the above, my aim for this blog is to explain and inform my readers about what the differences between the different beer and coffee types are, provide soft-news anecdotes of news from the industries and how we can support those in Appalachia who commit their careers to these passions and continue to spread their products to NC.

For reference, the Minnesota Skinny is a Medium publication with podcasts and articles dealing with foods and beers in the midwest and gives a personal twist to it. The creator has a passion for these things and knows people share a similar interest, thus enabling a collaboration. As far as coffee is concerned, The Coffee Magazine is a relevant publication mainly highlighting premium coffees and blends and why life with coffee is better.

I hope my blog can certainly stir and bud an interest in your tastes in coffee and beer while informing you why it’s so newly important to the Appalachian culture!

Tweet: ‘New on Bear’s Brew Blog: Love the mountains and beer? C’mon you YoPro, you definitely do!

Take a look at how the two will mesh in my first post…

https://medium.com/abs-blog/the-one-with-the-brew-blog-7e5b1a8749b

--

--

Aaron Blake
AB’s Blog

Aaron Blake is an Account Manager for Front Office Sports. He attends the UNC Charlotte and has a passion for sports communication and the outdoors.