The One with The Ending

Aaron Blake
AB’s Blog
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2019
Image via Aaron Blake

This one will be different and sentimental, so try to hold back the tears! Just kidding, but the journey has been fun. These Appalachains have certainly influenced a lot about my life. All of the beer and caffeine has been worth it, and the memories to accompany. This will just be a reflection.

I started hiking consistently in May of 2016 after my freshman year of college. My job gave me consistent Mondays and Tuesdays off, so trails were never crowded or busy. As you all know, the coffee and beer came later, but if these day trips to Western NC and Tennessee did not happen, the latter interests would have never been real.

Special thanks to the days at Roan Mountain, cliff jumping, and Grandfather Mountain.

Cliff jumping near Asheville, NC. Image via Carter Mitchell

I want you to be thankful about experiences in your life. All of them are important and they help shape who you are and want to be. Experiences can even help you conquer fears you might not have known you had, like my (rational) fear of falling off a slippery rock to my death.

The Appalachian Mountains have widely influenced the eastern half of this great country and I am proud to say these same hills have inspired and influenced me in my life.

Near Linn Cove Viaduct. Image via Logan McCraw

Beer is great and coffee is too, but I can attest to the reality that without the high country, the marriage of these in my mind and taste buds would not have sprung forth.

Whatever you are passionate about, make sure your heart is in it too. Great things will come about!

Thank you for allowing this caffeinated journey to come about!

Tweet: “Join me in one last trip up the mountains for a special farewell. May your passion be boundless. https://medium.com/abs-blog/the-one-with-the-ending-2f974be619f4

--

--

Aaron Blake
AB’s Blog

Aaron Blake is an Account Manager for Front Office Sports. He attends the UNC Charlotte and has a passion for sports communication and the outdoors.