Adoption

Home

What is it and where is it?

Akara Skye
Adoptere: Auditing the Narrative

--

Photo taken from my driveway, Sedona

“Home is where the heart is”. “Please come home”. “There’s no place like home”.

But as an adoptee, I have no concept of what “home” actually means. Is it a place, a person, a job, a feeling? Is it where I was raised by my adoptive family, or where I would have been raised with my birth family? Arriving at the doorstep of my adoptive family’s house, I felt like an alien dropped onto earth where I didn’t belong. I had nothing to grab hold of, no way to get my bearings. Dazed and confused.

Where was I, and who are these people?

I disregarded the alien feeling and settled in. I was family to them, and they were family to me; that is, until, quite shockingly, I was not.

At age twelve I found out I was adopted. My childhood development of my identity and my world was shattered. I didn’t belong in that home, with that family, in that town, with that identity which had been imposed on me.

I was unknowingly an imposter and knowingly an alien after all.

Moving into my adolescent and adult years, I developed issues with attachment, identity, safety, trust, and belonging. I was unsure as to what was right and wrong, fact and fiction. I was vigilant waiting for the inevitable. The rug would be pulled out from under me.

I am fearful if the landlord is at my door; I assume he will say, “You need to move out.” I create a temporary life, all my possessions fit neatly in my car, so I have the ability to flee when it is time to run.

I’m not able to make a “home” because I remain confused about what that word means or what it feels like. I haven’t lived anywhere for very long, I haven’t created a family, and I rarely get involved in the community.

My personality is aloof, introverted, and independent; all the while hoping for connection and permanence.

It wasn’t until I came out of the fog, that I noticed the pattern of many of my life decisions. I have been plagued with the underlying emotions of being adopted; suddenly everything made sense.

My struggles with identity are also evident in my professional life. Every couple of years, I change companies, industries and titles. I am able to work in a creative or financial situation, whatever will keep me afloat. I make sure not to stay for too long because eventually, they will realize I am a fraud.

I am the definitive chameleon.

If I ever find “home”, would I put down roots or would it feel foreign and uncomfortable, catapulting me into another escape?

I am everywhere and nowhere. I am everything and nothing.

Thank you for reading adoptēre, a publication to uplift and elevate the voices of adoptees and to audit the narrative of the institution of adoption. If you are an adoptee and interested in writing for adoptēre, click here to submit our writer’s interest form and we’ll get you added and published ASAP.
To learn more about the work of adoptēre,
click here.

--

--