Recent Favorites + GIVEAWAY

Pavithra Aravindan
Adventures in Consumer Technology
5 min readSep 8, 2016

Apps, gadgets, books and everything that got me hooked in August and probably got you hooked too. If not, you should totally try it.

This is seriously the best lists app by far. It is available on web as well as your phone. You can color code your notes, add pictures to them, have a checklist, label your notes, set reminders and these are just the few things you can do with it. It is a fun and colorful way to maintain notes and to-do lists. I will soon be doing an article on it for my unboxing app series. Follow me on Medium or Twitter if you want to get notified on it.

2. Papier

I discovered this quiet recently. It is an add-on in Google chrome. So, the way it works is, you can open a new tab on your chrome browser and start entering anything you want in that new tab. Suppose you are working or browsing and you suddenly remember something that you had to do or you are jotting down notes, just open a new tab and boom! You can immediately jot it down and close the tab and come back to it whenever.

3. Harry Potter and the Cursed child

There can be no August favorites post without the new Harry Potter book. I got this book on Sunday, July 31st and finished it in a day. It was super addictive and amazing. All her books have been so and this is no less. Loved it!

4. Grabr

Got to know about this site from a recent Tech Crunch post and WOW, what a wonderful concept. The concept behind this is, suppose you want something that you cannot get from your city, you can request it on this site and anyone travelling from the place that you want the product from will get it for you. And, you can take requests as well, if you are travelling and get paid! How awesome is that. As you can see in the picture above, I ordered a couple of things from UK. Yay! Can’t wait.

5. 3Doodler

I know this has been there for quite some time now but I finally had the money to splurge on it. It is like a glue gun but with colorful plastic sticks. You can plop a colorful stick in the pen and once it starts getting slightly hot, start drawing away in the air. Been creating some really cool stuff although I am not sure if it has a great utility value. It is a fun and artsy tool though.

6. Ipsy

I am by no means a beauty expert. I have been using nothing but an eyeliner for the past 23 years of my life. But, I stumbled upon Ipsy which is a monthly subscription box. It lets you take a survey when you sign up. The survey is about what skin type you have, the products you like to use, brands that you fancy, how skilled you are in makeup., etc. You get a small super fancy bag every month with 5 sample products. And it’s just $10!! That’s totally a steal. Trust me. This way you can learn more about beauty products and try them before you buy it. Use this referral link if you want to sign up and you will get some points to receive additional products.

7. Oregon

Not sure if you saw my oh so beautiful! travel vlog of Oregon. If you haven’t, you should totally go check that out. This place was dreamy beyond my imagination. It is so green and filled with lakes and waterfalls. Now who wouldn’t want to visit a place like that. And presumably summer is the best time to visit and you should definitely visit this place before summer is totally gone. If you do, please visit crater lake. Also, check out the video to find out what to do and where to go in Oregon.

That’s all my favorites for this month. Hope you liked this post and it inspires you to try them all.

As I mentioned in the title, there is going to be a GIVEAWAY!

It is the Harry Potter book that I mentioned in the post!

As I mentioned in one of my previous post, I am extremely happy for the way my Medium journey is turning out and I just wanted to do something to show my gratitude for all the people who recommend my posts, follow me and encourage me to keep writing.

Anyone who wants to enter the giveaway, just has to recommend this post and follow me on Medium and I will pick one person and ship the book to where ever in the world you are. Hope you love reading the book as much as I did.

Thank you!

--

--