Snapchat Snap Kit Support Continues to Disappoint

Bruce Bookman
Adventures in iOS mobile app development
3 min readAug 13, 2018

Part 6 in a continuing series

If you are a software developer, I’m asking for your help. Can you please send this article far and wide? I’m hoping to push Snapchat into a position where they commit to helping the developer community embrace their Snap Kit SDK.

Dear Snapchat Support, please read what a user asks and answer the question that was asked.

Question Asked about Client ID

Aug 1, 4:29 PM PDT

In the LoginKit documentation it says

Getting started

In your app project in Xcode, add SCSDKCoreKit.framework and SCSDKLoginKit.framework into General > Embedded Binaries.

Add the following fields in your application’s Info.plist file

SCSDKClientId (string): Your application’s client ID

Please explain exactly what that means? Where does the client ID come from? I have checked the developer portal and there is nothing labeled client ID. Does this mean OAUTH2 CLIENT ID??

Note, see where I said I checked the developer portal?

Response 1

Thanks for reaching out!

If you haven’t already you may want to login to the Snap Kit developer portal to gain access to Client ID.

Before we enable an application for public use, Snap reviews all apps that integrate with Snap Kit. To submit, simply add an app in the Snap Kit developer portal once your development is complete, then click Submit for Review.

I’m sorry, did I ask about enabling the application for public use? And did you read where I wrote that I checked the developer portal .. you asked me to do that and well I already did that.

Response 2

This is an automated response, and I have no idea if I should do what it says to do

Hi there! Learn more about Snap Kit by visiting support.snapchat.com/news/snapkit. If you have further questions, please reach out to us at support.snapchat.com/i-need-help. Thanks!

Question Asked about how to get support

Aug 6, 11:51 AM PDT

I have been told by your support team that in order to correctly obtain help with Snapkit I must use I Need Help.

Since I would like to get help sooner rather than later, can you tell me exactly which item to choose in “What can we help you withas well as the best sub menu item to choose (if there is one for what you tell me)

Attached is a screen shot of the choices for I Need Help. None of them seem to apply for Snapkit and this is why I ask.

Response 1

Chuck (Snap Connect)

Aug 6, 12:52 PM PDT

Hello there,

Thanks for reaching out, I apologize for the confusion.

Please provide the following information so that we can assist you with your Snap Kit issue:

  1. Username
  2. Client ID
  3. Specific URLs or assets used
  4. Info.plist (if there’s no sensitive information)
  5. Code sample if possible
  6. Screen recording and or screenshots
  7. IP address

Thanks again for helping us investigate 👻

I’m sorry, how does this address the question of the best way to get support?

Follow up

I have requested, by reply back to these messages, for escalation. I asked for a support person who could answer the questions I actually asked

P.S.

Snapchat support emails contain a footer

You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups “snapkit-support” group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to snapkit-support+unsubscribe@snapchat.com.
To post to this group, send email to snapkit-support@snapchat.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/a/snapchat.com/d/msgid/snapkit-support/CA%blahblahblahblahQ%40mail.gmail.com.

When I try to “view this discussion on the web” I first am asked to authenticate — and have no clue what credentials to use. There is an option to authenticate with Google. I tried that and got to a page telling me there was no such destination.

Series

Contact:

--

--