Why Afrophobia Flies While Antisemitism Doesn’t?

You might not be ready for the answers

Johnny Silvercloud
AfroSapiophile

--

“My Life Matters.” A photo from the George Floyd/Breonna Taylor Protests, 2020. | Photo Credit: Johnny Silvercloud

Afrophobia and antisemitism

It took me a while to gather myself to write this, being that this revelation is a very infuriating understanding.

For those who don’t know why we are having this lecture:

  1. A famous, rich Black guy said a lot of antisemitic stuff; he taunted and boasted that he will not be “canceled” (canceled = boycotted).
  2. Then, he got canceled (read: boycotted) by various corporations. A much-deserved fate.
  3. The same rich Black guy has said Afrophobic things numerous times leading up to this, with no kinetic negative effects to his estate (and when I say “estate,” I mean “his money”).

In the aftermath of watching this gold-digging new slave get his ass handed to him, many people, specifically of the Black Community, wonder:

“How come Kanye’s anti-Blackness (read: Afrophobia) isn’t a sociologically punishable offense, while his anti-semitism is?”

This is a very valid question. After all, what’s good for the Jewish goose should be good for the Black gander. My analysis of this intelligence gap leads me to two reasons, and I will elaborate on both. One of these reasons…

--

--

Johnny Silvercloud
AfroSapiophile

20 yr U.S. Army vet turned analytical street photographer who talks about power, protest, and politics. Do not defend racism or sexism when I’m in the room.