Travis King is Back

North Korea Didn’t Want Him

Johnny Silvercloud
AfroSapiophile

--

American soldier Private 2nd Class (PV2) Travis King is seen in a military portrait. Photo Credit: U.S. Army/Travis King’s family

Intro

Last year I felt compelled to talk about PV2 Travis King, the U.S. Army Soldier who fled into North Korea. I had to; after all, he’s a young Black Soldier and I’m probably the most consistent Black U.S. Army veteran you know writing on Medium.

So, for those who were not tracking: Travis King is back in the United States. North Korea released him, devoid of any prisoner exchange. If you remember (or simply give the prior article another read) I had many speculations about what may become of him.

This wasn’t one of them. So again, holy shit.

His release by North Korea in September followed weeks of behind-the-scenes negotiations that led the Swedish government to retrieve King in North Korea and bring him across the border into China for a handoff to the U.S. ambassador. ~ Source via Reuters

Travis King is Back

I’ll have to say that I’m shocked Travis King is back in America, especially how fast he was released. When I first looked…

--

--

Johnny Silvercloud
AfroSapiophile

20 yr U.S. Army vet turned analytical street photographer who talks about power, protest, and politics. Do not defend racism or sexism when I’m in the room.