Why Am I, I?
Image by 95C from Pixabay

Philosophy

Why Am I, I?

What keeps me in this body?

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
Philosophy and Theories
2 min readDec 9, 2019

--

Why am I… I? Why am I not someone else? Why I am born in this body?

Why am I not born in a different body? Or a different universe? And what keeps me in this body?

Just a mere chance? Like the creation of this universe was just mere chance too?

Or deliberate, like a machine… a program within a simulated reality?

It is like asking with this apple is an apple. Why isn’t it an orange? Without this apple, we couldn’t even ask this question.

Without me, I couldn’t specifically ask this question either, from my unique perspective.

It is like duplicating myself with all my memories and then asking that person: “Why are you, you?”

Whereupon my duplicate would respond with: “Because you created me.”

I guess it’s the same concept with me, but then starting from a much smaller level.

However, trying to find the “true why” behind something would be like trying to find a puzzle piece that fits everywhere. It’s not possible because it’s all relativistic, depending on the dimensions of the other puzzle pieces.

The only puzzle piece that would fit anywhere, would be an “empty puzzle piece”, but…

--

--

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
Philosophy and Theories

Primary: Intelligence Amplification (Overlap: Computer Science) | Secondary: Sports (Data) Science (Specialization: Road Cycling and Resistance Training)