Three Rules You Should Break When Writing A Children’s Book

Not every writing rule should be blindly followed

Stewart O Dunn
Age of Awareness
Published in
4 min readJun 17, 2022

--

Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

When I started my self-publishing journey a few years ago I almost drowned in the sea of information. Honestly, it was information overload when I started reading up on what to do or not do in terms of writing my children’s book.

You can Google any of the “rules” and you’ll find mountains of support for or against it. It can be disheartening when you have a draft and then start to review it in terms of what other writers say to avoid. If you’re not careful you’ll be left with pages of red lines if you allow yourself to be dictated by the rules others so intensely push.

I understand many rules are pushed for valid reasons. For example, the rules, “Don’t have an adult come and save the day”, “don’t write a story with no real plot” or “don’t preach to children like they are small, dumb adults”. I mean…know your audience. But there are certain rules I find to be silly. I’ve broken each of the below rules and I’m glad I did.

--

--

Stewart O Dunn
Age of Awareness

A Kentucky girl living the tropical life in Central America. I’m a children’s book author, self-publishing coach, and lover of all things literary.