Becoming A Machine Learning Engineer | Step 1: Adjusting Your Mindset

Christopher Dossman
AI³ | Theory, Practice, Business

--

Whenever I lead my workshops I always get a lot of questions afterward from developers who want to get started in machine learning but feel stuck.

Usually, the only thing holding them back is a self-limiting belief. I’m going to go over the most common of these beliefs and ways to get past them. Once you get past these mental blocks, there should be nothing stopping you from moving forward in your goals.

This article is part of a series. Check out the main article and second part in the links below.

Click Here for Step 2: Follow a Process

Click Here for Main Article

Self-limiting beliefs

Waiting to get started

The limiting belief that held me back the most was waiting to get started. I was always pushing back my first project because I felt like I always needed to finish one more thing. Whether that thing was reading a research paper or completing some online course there was always something else for me to work on before I could move forward.

Some common thoughts from students I teach are:

  • I need to get a degree first

--

--