Ripples of the Wave of Change

Tejumade Afonja
AI Saturdays
Published in
4 min readJan 9, 2018

AI Saturdays started globally on the 6th of January, 2018. Lagos, Nigeria Chapter is one of the 61+ Cities participating in this global goal of getting people who wants to kick-ass in AI together and form a study group for the next 16+ weeks.

Olalekan Olapeju, one of the participants writes about his experience which he titled “Ripples of the Wave of Change”

Little drops of water make a mighty ocean… Little by little the ant makes its colony a thousand times its size. It’s amazing how something so small can make a colony the size of an average human-being…From the ant I learnt that a small beginning isn’t what it seems to be… rather it’s a disguised success. — Jakpinky

Nigeria has been a country of many labels; sometimes derogatory. The name “Nigeria” leaves no better image in the mind of most people but corruption, poverty, developing nation, sleeping giant of Africa, to mention a few. While this perception still holds for a lot of people, there is a new breed of younger generation trying to find a meaning, expression and solution to problems not just local but global. There have been many of such efforts but this write-up zooms highlights just one of such, a dream that hatched on Saturday, 6th January 2018. Before now, there has been meet-ups that were quarterly but one-off as regards each meeting but this idea is about continuously building on subsequent meetups for 16th weeks to build and empower the Artificial Intelligence (AI) community in Nigeria alongside with the rest of the world, #AISaturdays.

A step back to my past, I have heard of AI since my undergrad years, just about when the popular movie I, Robot staring Will Smith, was released. I’ve always been a fan of sci-fi movies, so it wasn’t surprising that a passion was sparked in me to learn, understand and transform the world through the development of AI products. Even though Sci-fi movies AI aren’t exactly what real-life AI is — you know what I mean :-)

It was thereon that my AI ripples first started forming, thinking about it, this sounds like an irony considering the fact that I actually studied Computer Science in school but trust me, none of my Q Basic, FORTran, AI lectures spiked enough interest in me like that movie did.

I guess I left my head in the clouds :(

Bless you! I, Robot — now I’m a fan for life :)

Fast forwards few years after my undergrad studies, my passion for AI was rekindled with my participation in the #DataScienceNigeria’s bootcamp in October 2017 and this was further reinforced by a chat from a friend that directed me to Nurture.AI’s AI Saturdays. I longed for it to start and here we are :).

On the start of this fateful day, it appeared like the word got out to just a few as the organizers initially planned for 20 persons. However, as the lessons began, more people started coming in as the hours advanced. The first day ended with about 67 persons ranging from students to AI enthusiasts.

One of the thing that fascinated me about the study group was how linear algebra could be simplified into an interesting, short yet condescend concepts. I was literally in a “mathematics class” for hours without calculating or solving any problems yet I understood the lessons far better than when I was in school
where I was more bothered in solving exercises than understanding its concepts or applications. Okay, to be honest, I think school cheated me :( Nobody told me Matrices could be used to represent basically everything — sort-of.

Essence of Linear Algebra blew my mind, the lessons were concise yet illuminating mathematical concepts one learnt without earlier possessing that in-depth understanding of its applications or how it relates to the natural world.

Asides from the lessons on Linear Algebra, We set up google cloud (because it’s kinda free :)) using a tutorial written by How Khang, we then dived into some introduction to Python Programming Language and Numpy, a package in Python that helps in easier scientific computing on Matrices. (see links below)

The puzzles are starting to fit together in my mind. The ripples have begun forming and in the next 16th weeks, change is imminent.

Peculiar Ediomo-Abasi wrote an in-depth medium post describing our first meeting in details.

This is a great first start and we’re very excited about the enthusiasm in people to learn about AI. We hope we can be able to not only excite the participants but help them form a learning path towards their AI journey.

Lagos chapter wouldn't have happened without my fellow ambassador Azeez Oluwafemi, our Partners FB Dev Circle Lagos, Vesper.ng and Intel.

Thanks to Africa’s Talking Ltd for providing some sponsorship to make our first meeting a success. A big Thanks to Nurture.AI for this amazing opportunity.

See you next week 😎.

View our pictures here and follow us on twitter :)

Links to Resources

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rHLEWRxRGiM&index=6&list=PLZHQObOWTQDPD3MizzM2xVFitgF8hE_ab

https://medium.com/@howkhang/ultimate-guide-to-setting-up-a-google-cloud-machine-for-fast-ai-version-2-f374208be43

https://github.com/kuleshov/cs228-material/blob/master/tutorials/python/cs228-python-tutorial.ipynb

https://kantologist.github.io/Tutorials/#!/

--

--