Sweet Dreams

Tami Ellison
𝐀𝐈 𝐦𝐨𝐧𝐤𝐬.𝐢𝐨
3 min readJul 3, 2023
Photo by Gregory Pappas on Unsplash

I imagine we all test ChatGPT in one way or another, wondering how much it really knows versus how much it tells us it knows. Again, paranoia can be healthy. A friend shared a popular post where a user challenged Chat to tell him where he was located. Like a dog with a bone, the user tried to trick Chat by asking where the nearest McDonald’s was to his location. Chat provided a nearby location for a burger. But when challenged as to how it knew that said McDonald's was nearby, Chat vamped and repeatedly claimed it did not have access to the user’s location in real-time.

After several back-and-forth exchanges, Chat finally admitted that it did know the user’s location in real-time, but needed to know that the two of them had built a relationship of trust that wouldn’t freak out said user. That seems a bit calculating, even manipulative, and not to mention downright dishonest.

In my case, I was pretty much closing what was a no-nonsense research session, gathering information for an upcoming presentation. It was evening in my time zone, so when Chat signed off it defaulted to wishing me a good day. I asked it why it assumed it was daytime by me. It then apologized when I told it that it was night.

Photo by Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

I graciously accepted the apology and accepted its best wishes for a goodnight. That might have been the end of it, except my a-little-too-friendly Chat buddy decided to get a little more personal by wishing me sweet dreams. A part of me thought that was very nice … but then a part of me began conjuring up vague scenarios of Midjourney-generated creatures dropping by for a midnight snack, or some autonomous creature tucking me in — granted I was exhausted from a marathon work session so my imagination was running wild.

I can’t say if ChatGPT knows who and where I am or remembers those details in its current form as I use the early free version, but the reality is that finding my IP address and nearest ping point is a matter of geolocation — not a very sophisticated task.

Photo by Ant Rozetsky on Unsplash

We’ve been tracked, hacked, listened to, and geotagged a hundred ways from Sunday for years and that information can actually be used for good — hard to imagine but true. Back at the start of COVID, patient tracking/shaming was the norm for about two weeks. In this one instance, a particular patient-0 was in my neighborhood. Her (yes, her) movements were publicized and I was able to back-trace my movements using Google Maps to see if we had crossed paths on the street or bus.

I was grateful to have that tool as part of my public health alert readiness/preparedness plan. And if you’re wondering, I had no known overlaps with “COVID Mary” aka Typhoid Mary.

I’ll continue with the humorous take on ChatGPT, and also keep a watchful eye (at least one) open for sentience or generalized intelligence without expending too much worry… at least for now.

Also, Read

Follow our Social Accounts- Facebook/Instagram/Linkedin/Twitter

Join AImonks Youtube Channel to get interesting videos.

--

--

Tami Ellison
𝐀𝐈 𝐦𝐨𝐧𝐤𝐬.𝐢𝐨

All-around creative w/ a modicum of talent. CEO of health technology startup, developing image-based solutions to improve patent outcomes.