Art Gallery, Performance Space and Bounce House Orgy

Welcome to Airbag Media!

John Dennett
Airbag Media
2 min readJun 12, 2016

--

Photo credit: jollyjump via Visual hunt / CC BY

I’ve been percolating on this vague idea of “starting a thing” since the beginning of 2016. “Exactly what kind of thing?” I hear you asking. I honestly don’t know, not yet at least. But I can tell you that I’ve started, and this is that thing.

After a lot of tortured inner dialog, I decided that I wouldn’t let not knowing what I’m doing get in the way of me doing it. In that spirit, please allow me to make some bold proclamations of intent that I’m sure to be [haunted/baffled/entertained] by later.

Airbag Media is a creative space

Airbag Media is essays, reviews, podcasts, art, photography, music, video, whatever. I like to think of it as a virtual loft space that can be an art gallery, a performance space and a bounce house orgy, all with a minimum of friction and a maximum of enjoyment. This is a loosely curated creative space where my friends and other nice people are invited to share some things that they feel like sharing.

Airbag Media is a collaboration

My creative batteries are supercharged through interaction with others. A lot of my inertia around launching Airbag Media was because I was creating it by myself. I’m looking forward to the next phase, where I’ll be batting ideas and creations around with other people. That’s so much more in my sweet spot.

Airbag Media is full of shit

Airbag Media exists because I need to create, no matter how trivial my contributions to the global cultural dialog may be. I know that sounds like an ego exercise, and maybe it is. But for every declaration of importance, profundity and gravity, the voice in my head will be my own biggest cynic and critic. So in case you’re wondering I already know this is a preposterous undertaking. I’m doing it anyway.

Now let’s enjoy the ride!

--

--

John Dennett
Airbag Media

Founder, creator, airbag. Lover of music, comics, movies, technology and other distractions. Project manager, product manager.