On The Issue Of Money And ...

layo bisola
All the Random
Published in
5 min readJun 25, 2023

On the issue of money.

I don't even make much and I am extremely bothered by my spending habits which is in fact not extravagant.

Oh no, not in any way at all.

I have dreams though, big, very big and wild and hot dreams that involve millions of dollars, but I do not have that much yet, meaning I do not spend as much.

Yet, I notice the zeros in my account balance decrease on a daily basis until I'm literally down to my last 10k.

And from there, I just go broke.

Like moneyless until some other time.

And it bothers me, honestly. .cos it's money.

Yet, I don't even know.

I try to plan it.

But it still manages to surprise and keep me alarms by the end of everything.

Money issues.

Not some easy thing honestly.

I cannot bring myself to see money lightly in any way, of course except the money in my bank account.

Because just like most of the time since I started earning which is very much recent by the way, I am down to my last less then ten Kay (<10k) and oh my god.

What do I do?

I can't be hard on myself, because I know that even though I can not exactly account for what I spent on, I can't blame myself either.

Because they were either needed, necessary or craved and I didn't even get to satisfy all of my cravings.

I mean there is still that ice-cream with sprinkles and gummy bears that I still wanna try.

There is still the Dan Brown's hard copy books I wanna exhaust the bookstore at the library of.

Yet, here I am wishing money upon myself.

That brings me to the two most important questions I have with regards to this topic.

How do you make your money as a student and how do you plan and save it?

There is also the question of what advice would you give a student like me whose passion lies in writing both random and smutty stuff.

Because I need some money.

I honestly want to top up my zeros and smile big when I count 'em every morning.

That's how I feel.

You feel something similar or something far off?

Are you the rich kid who finds people who have little to no money irritable and just so annoying or are you the one that respects them and tries to understand their point of view?

Are you the haughty aunt or uncle who is average average but still believes that they are better than every one else?

Like others could do better if they try harder but you feel like there is nothing more you could or should do?

Or are you the type who works hard and tries to save everytime but something keeps coming up everytime?

Photo by Giorgio Trovato on money money money. I use naira here though, but I wouldn't mind other currencies

Or the type who barely works but has luck good enough to afford both your needs and luxuries?

Note, I didn't call you all out to advice y'all.

This is just me calling people who use money out.

Right, I didn't leave out the cat.

Are you the smart cushion cat loved by your owners who would buy you the most expensive toys and food just to keep you happy?

How does this money thing work with you?

Are there books you've read and would recommend?

Is there an anime or cartoon that just has you nodding in acknowledgement and agreement to the application of money used in it?

Or is there a Chinese novel you read on webnovel with over three thousand chapters but yet managed to give practical advise on money and it's management?

Please recommend.

Yes, that's a please and one that is quite urgent.

Oh money money money, come to me and top up all my accounts with zeros to infinity.

  • Sighs*

And before I start daydreaming about this in its entirety, I have some studying to do.

Studying in the sense that I have to start from scratch and understand what I was taught in MTS(I don't remember the course code) and CSC 203 during the week, Friday for CSC by the way.

Studying will not be difficult!

I will have fun studying!

And by tomorrow (Monday) I will be confident in what I have learnt!! (Those were literally words of affirmation)

So help me God.

Now that we are on the topic of studying, there is some new discovery I made recently that I would love to share.

So it goes like this, recently, that is sometimes this well while I was trying to go through the basics of one of the MTS I was taught this week, I went to YouTube for help of course.

And by the end of it, I was more than happy that I squealed and couldn't stop my smiles at my realization; more like regret though.

Because those basic stuff was thought in my previous year and guess what?

I am confident and more than confident that I failed the mathematics I consider basic right now. And it hasn't even been two months yet since the exams.

Oh well, that's gone, but I just, you know, I just wish I had studied better against my bad conviction of not wanting to prepare for the exam.

If you are also one of those people the do not exactly feel the need to prepare for an exam even though you do not feel confident about passing it, even though you did not attend most classes and did not watch any YouTube videos prior, please signify in the comments section.

This lackadaisical attitude is in fact one I will attribute to my ex crush, the one I told you I dreamt about in this post, Plan Ahead.

This is I tend to be you when I know you/like you.

A copy cat of some sort and during our first semester exams, guy wasn't even reading the PDFs.

He had Call of duty to keep him busy.

So yeah that's that about school ( and this is me knowing I might continue talking about the crush if I don't end the overflowing words here)

We can talk about our crush and ex crush or ex-partners in the comment section if we want.

Remember, I don't judge.

Yes, I mean it.

I don't judge people that aren't me and I wouldn't judge you even if you are the red flag in the relationship.

So yeah, it's okay to confess my love to you for reading this far right? 🥺☺️.

And no, I don't mind if you're a girl or a boy🙂💓😚

Photo by Leonardo Sanches on Unsplash

O

--

--