American Perp Walk | In Satire We Trust

How Sarah Huckabee Sanders Lied Her Way Through the Arkansas State Spelling Bee

S. J. Newman
AMERICAN PERP WALK
Published in
3 min readApr 18, 2018

--

Sarah Huckabee with her proud family after “winning” the state spelling bee

A 14-year-old Sarah Huckabee once bamboozled judges to win the 1996 Arkansas State Spelling Bee, perhaps foreshadowing her future as a prevaricating White House Press Secretary. The following was transcribed from an old home video Sarah’s mother mistakenly returned to Blockbuster in a ‘Sling Blade’ box:

Judge: Sarah, for the win, spell, Ecclesiastes.
Sarah: Easy. Ecclesiastes. E-c-l-e-s-i-a-s-t-e-s. Ecclesiastes.
Judge: I’m sorry, Ecclesiastes is spelled with two c’s.
Sarah: That’s what I said.
Judge: No you didn’t.
Sarah: I can’t help it if y’all didn’t hear me right, I got these darn rubber bands on my braces.
Governor Huckabee: (theatrically clears throat in audience)
Judge:
Maybe I misheard you — judges, to be fair, can we give Miss Huckabee another word? Yes? Spell, recidivist.
Sarah: Can I hear that in a sentence, ‘cuz I personally think that’s a fake word.
Judge: The thief was not granted bail because he was a known recidivist.
Sarah: I’m pretty certain I heard this word used before.
Judge: Will you spell it, please?
Sarah: Like I said, this word has been covered before.
Judge: What do you mean, “covered before”?
Sarah: Frankly, if you guys don’t know this word has already been used in like a million other spelling bees…
Judge: Please spell the word or be disqualified.
Sarah: Disqualified. D-i-s-q-u-a-l-i-f-i-e-d. Disqualified.
Judge: That’s incorrect, please sit down.
Sarah: I spelled it right. I would refer you to Webster’s 10th Collegiate Dictionary.
Judge: You spelled the wrong word correctly.
Sarah: You said, “spell the word ‘disqualified’ an’ I did!”
Judge: I said “spell the word, which was recidivist, OR BE disqualified!”
Sarah: No you didn’t.
Judge: Young lady, get off the stage now!
Sarah: Sir, this is a spellin’ bee, not a shoutin’ match.
(she arches an eyebrow imperiously)
Judge: It’s about to become a wrestling match if you don’t take your seat.
Sarah: Recidivist. R-e-c-i… (interrupted by time buzzer)
Judge: You did not spell the word in the time allotted.
Sarah: Well, you guys keep on interruptin’ me! (starts crying) Daddy?
Governor Huckabee: Lordy, let my girl spell the word!
Judge: Judges, can we allow more time on this? Yes? Okay, spell recidivist.
Sarah: Recidivist. R-e-c-i-d-i-v-i-s-t. Recidivist.
Judge: That is correct. Hold on a sec…
Judge 2: Um, I believe the Governor was mouthing the letters to his daughter.
Governor Huckabee: I wasn’t mouthin’ — I was prayin’.
Judge: Praying what, Governor? The Lord’s R-e-c-i-d-i-v-i-s-t Prayer?
Governor Huckabee: Excuse me sir, I‘m talkin’ to my daughter. Pum’kin, didn’t Mama tell you not to wear so much makeup? Y’all look like a hussy.
Sarah: I do not.
Governor Huckabee: Do too.
Sarah: Well, I won the dang spellin’ bee, didn’t I? Are we done here?

###

You may also enjoy reading my story, My Kids Draw Sarah Huckabee Sanders.

Three portraits of a bully in a pulpit

_________________________________________________________________
S. J. Newman is a freelance Creative Director and a certified writer at Comedywire where he heckles current events. See the usual suspects walk the red carpet of shame on his blog, American Perp Walk.

Please applaud, comment, share, or shame.

--

--

S. J. Newman
AMERICAN PERP WALK

Political satire that’s at least as good as the worst of the best. S. J. Newman is a freelance Creative Director.