Broken

Barbara Mac
Amusing Responses
Published in
Sep 15, 2022
old, broken wooden dinghy
Photo Image by Thanasis Papazacharias from Pixabay

I grew in the forest
Once, long ago
My leaves danced the sun,
Roots drank deep of the rain,
My flowers fed the birds,
Wide branches held nests
Long ago.

I was crafted with care
Once, long ago
Cheerful and brave
They cheered at my launching.
I bathed in champagne
And danced on the waves
Long ago.

I braved tempests and gales
Once, long ago
I heard children’s laughter,
Kept safe from all harm
Rescued sailors in storms
Bore them up, brought them home
Long ago.

Now I’m broken and weary
Returning to earth
Where new trees will grow
To rejoice in the sun
To be crafted with care
And to dream of what was
Long ago.

© 2022 Barbara Mac

In response to a photo prompt by the wonderful Christine Graves on Enticing the Muse: Christine Graves

--

--

Barbara Mac
Amusing Responses

Exploring the human experience on this beautiful, fragile planet hurtling through the universe.