10 Quotes from a Korean Monk that can Change Your Life

The things you can see only when you slow down — Haemin Sunim

Renuka Dhinakaran
An Empowered Life

--

Photo by Levi XU on Unsplash

Six months after my brush with death, I was still grappling with the consequences of that near fatal day. I was frustrated that the doctors could still not diagnose what was wrong with me (19 months now and we still don’t have a clear answer). It was becoming increasingly clear that life was not going to return to “normal” for the foreseeable future.

Yet, I was not anywhere close to accepting this reality. I thought that I could return to work, if not as a practising lawyer, at least as a consultant. That, to me, seemed like acceptance. I now know that it was, in fact, Grade A denial, as I was staring straight into the barrel of a massive burnout.

Amidst all this, my husband’s birthday was nearing. For the first time in the 12 years I had known him, I did not know what to get him. Something felt off. On more careful observation, I noticed that he was just as tired and sleepless as me. The only difference was that he was still working himself to death.

However, I had no clue how to help him, considering that I was in denial myself. He was clearly worried about my health, the sudden drop in income and our future. It seemed like he was working more to either compensate for this…

--

--

Renuka Dhinakaran
An Empowered Life

I am a burned out international lawyer & mother with Fibromyalgia and anxiety, trying to re-discover my identity. https://www.apainfulidentity.com/