Kindness

adii
Exhale with Adii Pienaar
2 min readJul 26, 2017
Photo by Razvan Narcis Ticu on Unsplash

I believe that there is always a kinder way to say or do something.

This belief is partly fueled by the idealistic streak in my that wants to believe that there is actually a way to always be kind to the extent of never offending or hurting anyone. I know though that this is not true because once a word or action leaves me, I can’t control how someone else experiences it.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t try.

In most situations, I believe there is way to use a softer, calmer or clearer word to communicate kindness. This probably involves being clear about my own emotions, motivation, consideration and intention; especially as to how that influences the level of kindness that follows. Maybe it just requires a less emotive word or a slower action. Another idea might be to add context (maybe explaining our emotion, motivation, consideration and intention) before speaking or taking action. And sometimes it could be about adopting radical candor and being very direct (something which I am learning to practice more diligently now).

Either way, I don’t think it is important to think about how I can optimise my kindness in any situation or even less how I can be “perfectly kind” (if such a thing exists).

What I would, however, like to think though is that there is a way in most situations that I could be kinder than what my initial reaction would dictate. That feels like a wholesome and rewarding challenge to set myself.

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend by clicking on the ❤ below. :)

Other things you can do to show your love:

  • Get all of my new content in your inbox (sign up above).
  • Share this story on Twitter / Facebook / everywhere.
  • Follow me and / or this publication.

--

--

adii
Exhale with Adii Pienaar

Currently working on Conversio (@getconversio). Previously: Co-Founder / CEO of @WooThemes. Also: New dad & ex-Rockstar. More at http://adii.me.