AniTAY’s Top Anime of 2020: Part Three, The Top 10

Van Dennis
AniTAY-Official
Published in
5 min readJan 18, 2021

Here we go: the best of the best, culminating in AniTAY’s official anime of the year.

Previous Lists:

10th Place (32 points):

My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU Climax- One first place vote

9th Place (34 points):

Golden Kamuy Season 3- One first place vote

8th Place (35 points):

Beastars

7th Place (43 points):

Sleepy Princess in the Demon Castle- One first place vote

6th Place (44 points):

Kaguya-sama: Love is War?- One first place vote

5th Place (53 points):

Tonikawa: Over the Moon for You- Two first place votes

4th Place (56 points):

Great Pretender- One first place vote

3rd Place (73 points):

Re:Zero − Starting Life in Another World Season 2- One first place vote

2nd Place (77 points):

Keep Your Hands Off Eizouken!- Five first place votes

1st Place (114 points):

Deca-Dence- Three first place votes

And there you have it: with a colossal lead, Deca-Dence is officially AniTAY’s anime of the year, 2020.

Various musings and final thoughts:

  • Being a poll conducted in 2020, this list is almost predictably odd, for many reasons: there were over a dozen fewer entries this time (over 70 shows and movies found their way onto the 2019 list), despite there being only three fewer voters than last time (2020’s 23 to 2019’s 26). I’m still proud so many people responded this time, and if I missed you, I apologize, and I look forward to hearing from you in the 2021 poll!
  • While the first place vote is nearly indisputable with its vote tally, the other spots down were almost unbelievably close, so much so that one more ballot could’ve completely changed the final order. Seriously, there are only 15 points separating the 6th to 12th places; in past years, the margin has been twice that.
  • Circling back to first place, while Eizouken put in a respectable performance with five first place votes (the most of any show in the poll), Deca-Dence blew it and everything else away simply by how many people voted for it, with 17 of the 23 total voters having it somewhere on their list (Eizouken and Re:zero 2 both had 11 voters each, oddly enough).
  • We had some odd ties this year, with 52nd place being a tie between two idol shows, and 43rd place being a tie between two CG entries.
  • I guess we can also honor My Hero Academia: Heroes Rising as AniTAY’s movie of the year as well, given its performance as the highest scored movie (and yeah, I’m kinda ashamed of myself for not catching the Made in Abyss movie in time).
  • My personal win this year is how many of my own entries did so well, with my own personal #1 pick just clawing its way into the top 10 (you’ll see a bit more on that from me later this week, so keep your eyes peeled for my own best of 2020 list…), and half of my overall ballot winding up there as well. Also, this is the first time ever that something on my list was also AniTAY’s #1 pick! Finally, yes!
  • And this year’s winner of what I’d like to call the “Place for Votes” position was Railgun T, which got 20 points and landed in 20th place. Just a small coincidence I always keep my eye out for each year.
  • Final thought: I’m quite happy with the results. Some surprising performances and placements, an overall top ten that doesn’t have anything really objectionable (maybe some recency bias towards Sleepy Princess, but I can’t really complain too much on that one), and no one voted for Japan Sinks or A Whisker Away. Good job, team!

And there you have it. AniTAY’s top anime of 2020. See you later this year, stay healthy and safe, and best of luck in the months to come.

You’re reading AniTAY, a non-professional blog whose writers love everything anime related. To join in on the fun, check out our website, visit our official subreddit, follow us on Twitter, or give us a like on our Facebook page.

--

--

Van Dennis
AniTAY-Official

Part-time writer, media essayist, and film school graduate residing in Portland, OR. He/his. As seen on Tay2, opposite-lock, and Unwinnble. @Dennisthatsit.