August Writing Challenge

Anyone Can Write a Poem or Story About August

Give it a try!

Jerry Dwyer
Anyone Can Write Online

--

The Hiroshima Memorial: a domed building in ruins. In the foreground are a couple of people under large dark blue umbrellas gazing at the memorial.
Photo by Roméo A. on Unsplash

Remember that Ten Word Story Challenge the other day? Well, I got challenged again. This time Timpoa tagged me.

Here’s the prompt:

Write a poem or a work of fiction that somehow revolves around the month of August.

You can find Timpoa’s entry here:

https://medium.com/poetry-salad/august-sunshine-a4d3ab923cd1

Timpoa was tagged by Margie Willis. Her entry can be found here:

https://medium.com/poetry-salad/red-poppies-b692b5030907

Sadie Seroxcat started it all. Her entry where she tagged Margie is here:

https://medium.com/poetry-salad/august-sunshine-a4d3ab923cd1

Warning: Most of these challenge poems and stories are light and sweet and happy.

Mine isn’t.

I was going to do a light and sweet and happy poem but when I checked out the major events in the last 100 years or so that occurred in August, I couldn’t get passed the event that occurred on August 6, 1945. Sorry.

So here goes. In case you don’t remember, I like to write haikus.

Little Boy playing,
Summer in Hiroshima —
Incinerated

OK, that was short. So, I will throw in another one. This poem covers 2,000 years but is not as dark:

Elvis passed away,
Vesuvius erupted,
Dog days of August

All right, one more and that’s all. I finally got by World War II in my research but then got stuck in the Vietnam War.

Parkinson’s Disease,
Agent Orange Awareness Day,
Hodgkin’s Lymphoma,

I think I will tag a few fellow editors of Anyone Can Write Online
Heather Cooper S. G. S. Abel Nicole Dake

Anyone else wish to jump into the fray?

By the way, Mt Vesuvius erupted on August 24, 0079; Elvis Presley died on August 16, 1977; another bomb was dropped on Nagasaki on August 9, 1945; and Japanese Emperor Hirohito surrendered on August 15, 1945.

Oh, and the nickname for the atomic bomb that was dropped on Hiroshima on August 6, 1945, was Little Boy.

And Agent Orange Awareness Day is August 10, 2022!

--

--

Jerry Dwyer
Anyone Can Write Online

I read books and then travel to places I read about. And I bring my camera with me.